Skip to Main Content

Reference e-books

This guide contains listings and links to CSM Library's online reference books: encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, indexes, and much, much more!

Speech eBooks

Lost Art of the Great Speech : How to Write It, How to Deliver It by Dowis, Richard
Call Number: Online
How to Prepare, Stage, and Deliver Winning Presentations by Leech, Thomas
Call Number: Online
Speaking, Listening and Understanding : Debate for Non-native-English Speakers
Call Number: Online
Art of Crossing Cultures by Storti, Craig
Call Number: Online

Media & Communication eBooks

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 easy to access online books. Browse by subjects - literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology - or use the search box.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of digital books, including academic titles and popular fiction, for reading online. Most of these titles are currently NOT available in OneSearch; please search through the database here to locate titles.

Encylopedia of Communication

The Handbook of Intercultural Discourse and Communication by Christina Bratt Paulston (Editor); Scott F. Kiesling (Editor); Elizabeth S. Rangel (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781405162722
Publication Date: 2012

Journalism and Reporting

Reporting for the Media by Fedler, Fred.
Call Number: Online
Writing for Broadcast Journalists by Thompson, Rick
Call Number: Online
Reporting Handbook by Schwartz, Jerry
Call Number: Online
Sports Journalism : A Multimedia Primer by Steen, Rob
Call Number: Online

Aspects of Communiation

Nonverbal Communication by Judith A. Hall (Editor); Mark L. Knapp (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013
Transcultural Communication by Andreas Hepp
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2015
Interpersonal Communication by Charles R. Berger (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2014

Search Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative source on the English language, with a focus on etymology and historical usage.

Continue Your Research

Our subject libguides provide links to printed and online resources - books, articles and websites.

Communication Studies
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 49 views this year
Digital Media
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Feb 14, 2024 8 views this year
English & Literature
by Teresa Morris Last Updated Mar 20, 2024 3 views this year