Skip to Main Content

Reference e-books

This guide contains listings and links to CSM Library's online reference books: encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, indexes, and much, much more!

Health Handbooks

Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by Scanlon, Valerie C. and Sanders, Tina
Call Number: Online
Merck Manual Home Health Handbook
Call Number: Online
Handbook of Multicultural Mental Health : Assessment and Treatment of Diverse Populations by Cuéllar, Israel and Paniagua, Freddy A.
Call Number: Online
Cambridge Handbook of Age and Ageing by Johnson, Malcolm Lewis
Call Number: Online
Handbook of Geriatric Assessment by Gallo, Joseph J.
Call Number: Online
Handbook of Girls' and Women's Psychological Health by Worell, Judith and Goodheart, Carol D.
Call Number: Online
Vital Diabetes : Your Essential Reference for Diabetes Management in Primary Care by Fox, Charles and MacKinnon, Mary
Call Number: Online

Nursing Manuals

Operating Department Practice A-Z by Smith, Brian. Williams, Tom
Call Number: Online
McGraw-Hill's Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests‎
Call Number: Online
Diseases and Disorders : A Nursing Therapeutics Manual by Sommers, Marilyn Sawyer, Johnson, Susan A. and Beery, Theresa A.
Call Number: Online
Cox's Clinical Applications of Nursing Diagnosis : Adult, Child, Women's, Mental Health, Gerontic, and Home Health Considerations by Cox, Helen C. Newfield and Susan Anne Murdoch
Call Number: Online
Current Essentials of Critical Care by Sue, Darryl Y., Bongard, Fred S. and Vintch, Janine R. E.
Call Number: Online
Family Health Care Nursing : Theory, Practice, and Research by Hanson, Shirley M. H. Gedaly-Duff, Vivian Kaakinen and Joanna Rowe
Call Number: Online

Oxford Handbooks

Note: although these books refer to British healthcare standards, the underlying principles apply to American healthcare.

Oxford Handbook of Clinical Skills in Adult Nursing by Jacqueline Randle (Editor); Frank Coffey (Editor); Martyn Bradbury (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Oxford Handbook of Respiratory Nursing by Terry Robinson (Editor); Jane Scullion (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Oxford Handbook of Gastrointestinal Nursing by Christine Norton (Editor); Annmarie Nunwa (Editor); Claire Taylor (Editor); Kathy Whayman (Editor); Julia Williams (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Skills in Adult Nursing by Jacqueline Randle (Editor); Frank Coffey (Editor); Martyn Bradbury (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health

Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Select "Publications" from above the search box, then limit to "Books" (menu on the left).

Ebook Central

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A search example:
1. go to advanced search
2. select "title" from the first drop-down menu (default = keyword), then "matches" from the second drop-down menu. Type "fast facts for" in the search box
3. in the next line, select "publisher" and type "springer"

Continue Your Research

Need more information? Check subject guides listed below.

Evidence Based Nursing Research
by Geri Bodeker Last Updated Feb 14, 2024 47 views this year
Health Science
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Mar 6, 2024 4 views this year
Psychology
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 48 views this year
Dental Assisting
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Mar 6, 2024 15 views this year