Skip to main content

Faculty Guide to Library Resources: Using Online Library Resources

This guide is for CSM faculty who want learn more about using library resources in their online and in-person classes and instruction.

Access Library databases from off-campus

Library databases can be accessed from on-campus networks and you can also use those databases from off-campus networks. You will need a PLS library card. Library cards are available to students attending class on campus and also to distance students. You should also have your PLS library PIN number (usually this is the last 4 digits of your phone number) available.

Identify the database you'd like to use from the CSM Library Database webpage.
If you are accessing the databases while using the CSM campus network (including wifi network), you should gain direct access by clicking on the title.
If you are accessing the databases while using a non-CSM campus network (ex: at home, work, on smartphone with data connections, etc), click on the title of the databases and you will be asked to input your library card number and  sometimes asked your library PIN number before getting into the database.

Using online library resources in your classes

The Library provides free access to over 40 subscription-based online databases of articles, books, audio books, images, and films.  These resources focus on health, general science, social sciences, humanities, literature, literary criticism, biography, computer technology, government documents, business, arts (image collections), biological sciences, and more.  Resources from these databases can be viewed (and in many cases downloaded) in the Library, on campus, and from remote locations.  A PLS library card is needed for off-campus access (see the box to the left for more information about accessing our databases from off campus).

Please contact us if you need assistance integrating our online resources into your courses - we're here to help!

Films on Demand

Films on Demand has thousands of videos about a wide variety of subjects, including Humanities and Social Sciences, Business and Economics, Science and Mathematics and Health and Medicine.  All of these videos are close-captioned, and are appropriate for use in the classroom, or for assigned viewing outside of class.  Please see this guide for more information about using videos from Films on Demand in your classes.

Title Segment