Skip to main content

International Students - Welcome to the Library!: ENGLISH (and other languages)

This guide introduces the CSM Library to CSM international students. We hope you will use it to find your way around the library, off- and on-line. Remember - you and your questions are welcome at the CSM Library!

Articles in languages other than English: EBSCO databases

Most of the EBSCO databases from the CSM collection have two translation features: for the interface and for the articles text (HTML only). In addition, there is a "Listen" option - hear the HTML (full text) of an article read to you or download it as an MP3 file.

How to change the interface language? See the image below.

 

 

 

 

How to make the database translate an article? See the image below. Important: the translation is available only for articles in HTML format (not PDF). It is an automatic translation, focusing on words rather than sentences, and often neither gramatically nor stylistically correct. However, it will help you to understand a text in which many words are unfamiliar (e.g. scholarly articles that often use jargon).

 

Articles in languages other than English: PROQUEST databases

PROQUEST databases allow you to read an article in a language other than English.

As it is the case with EBSCO, this will be an automatic translation, focusing on words rather than sentences, often neither gramatically nor stylistically correct. However, it will help you to understand a text in which many words are unfamiliar (e.g. scholarly articles that often use jargon). 

Once you find an article you want to read, follow the link "Full text" (not .pdf). The option to translate will be located just before the full text starts (often after the abstract) - see example below. 

Books in languages other than English: Book catalog

In the "advanced search" interface, limit your search by language (and, if you wish, by location).

ESL books in the catalog

You can search the library catalog for ESL books - see an example of "advanced search" interface below. (NOTE: you can add levels 1-5, reflecting your knowledge of English)

 

We have a special guide about ESL resources.

Articles in languages other than English: GALE databases

GALE databases allow you to read an article in a language other than English and to listen to it being read in English. You can also download an MP3 file of the text.

As it is the case with EBSCO, this will be an automatic translation, focusing on words rather than sentences, and often neither gramatically nor stylistically correct. However, it will help you to understand any text in which many words are unfamiliar (e.g. in scholarly articles that often use professional jargon). 

Once you find an article you want to read, and see the full text on the screen, look at the interface and locate the "Listen" and "Translate" options in the menu - see example below (note: if you do not see menu on the right side of the screen, look around - perhaps this particular interface has menu at the top, or on the left...)