Skip to main content

Reference e-books: Introduction to eBooks

This guide contains listings and links to CSM Library's online reference books: encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, indexes, and much, much more!

SEARCHING FOR AND DOWNLOADING eBOOKS

E-READERS AND MORE..

Read ebooks on your computer - or check what can be accessed through a mobile device. Use the links and menu below.

To learn more (e.g. how to find articles) see the CSM Library Guide to Research on Mobile Devices.

 

Off-campus Access

All ebooks collections are accessible on and off campus (see icons on the right  → → →.)

Off campus access requires login using PLS library card # and password 

To access reference ebooks available for your topic select the subject tab from this guide menu.Off campus you might be asked couple of times to enter your login and password - because the books listed in the guide come from different databases. You will not be asked to login for every book you want to look at.

Before you start check the links below:

ALL eBOOKS ARE NOT ALIKE..

Ebooks, including reference ebooks, come in multiple formats - not all are accessible using the same applications, devices or even the same login/password; some retain the book format and some are presented as series of separate chapters/files; some databases hold exlusively books and some books and articles; etc. etc.

In short: CSM offers access to several collections of ebooks (see icons on the right → → →)

  • EBSCOhost ebooks (former NetLibrary)
  • Safari
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
  • Gale Directory
  • Overdrive (PLS catalog collection)
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Nursing and Allied Health Source (books and articles)
  • Health and Wellenss Resource Center (books and articles)
  • Business and Company Resource Center (books and articles)
  • Open Library (Internet Archive free books - PLS catalog collection) 
  • Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

You can browse through our ebooks collections - which contain e-reference books and other types of books - using the links in the box to the right. To see reference ebooks available for your topic select the subject tab from the menu. 

You can also read more about our ebooks at:

eBooks at CSM - BROWSE AWAY!

 

animated EBSCOhost ebooks logo

 

safari ebooks logo small

 

overdrive logo

 

GVRL logo small

EB logo small

ProQuest main logo small

 

Note: In ProQuest, you must start with  "Publications" and then limit to books

BROWSE ALL eBOOKS IN THE BOOK CATALOG

picture of the word "ebook" - link to ebooks in the PLS book catalog

NOTE: This list does NOT include

  • CSM EBSCOhost ebooks
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library 
  • (Encyclopedia) Britannica Online
  • and many titles accessible through CSM databases like ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health