Research Guides: Psychology: Articles & Databases

Developing a topic

Help throughout the research process - developing a topic, finding search terms, evaluating sources, citing..

Check Assignment Instructions

Approach: Research: Identify the primary purpose of your assignment.
Terms related to approach:
Identify other important factors related to your approach (summary, analysis), including your target audience.
Organizational & writing requirements, including length of paper: Use of peer review (aka scholarly, academic, or refereed) articles.
Citation requirements: APA Style
Due Dates: Take note of due dates and make a plan to complete your work on time. Time management is very important.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of nearly 80 APA journals in psychology, behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. The database contains more than 560 full-text journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and much more.
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current social issues and problems from Congressional Quarterly.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

Anatomy of a scholarly article (interactive) This link opens in a new window
Short, illustrative and interactive guide to recognizing a scholarly article.

Scholarly and Popular Sources (video)
5 minutes video explaining differences between scholarly journals and popular magazines - from CSM Library youtube channel.

ONLINE: Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Browse/search the 1950-2005 Annual Review of Psychology full text. See the Table of Contents for these and for 2006-current issues (see above)
Annual Review of Psychology - TOCs
Browse the volumes by year - then come and borrow the print version from the library!