Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Teaching Resources for Faculty

Using Library Owned & Licensed Materials in the Classroom

The CSM Library subscribes to many databases containing hundreds of thousands of full-text ebooks, articles, films, and more. There are several benefits to linking to CSM Library ebooks in your online classroom:

  • Cost Library-owned and subscribed material costs students nothing since access to the library and library materials is guaranteed as part of their enrollment.
  • Copyright By linking to CSM Library-owned or subscribed material you do not have to worry about infringing on copyright. The library's licenses allow for sharing links with CSM students, faculty, and staff. By linking to material instead of copying or uploading the material directly you can be assured that you are not violating any copyright rules.
  • Accessibility All library resources are evaluated for their accessibility by ITS and every effort is made to make sure our materials are as accessible as possible to the entire CSM community. Not all online library materials 100% accessible. Accessibility to our online resources is something that, along with our resource providers, we are working to improve. The majority of the library's online resources are accessible. You can learn more about the accessibility of our databases and how to use some of the accessibility tools by visiting the vendor sites for the above products:

If you have a required non-textbook title for your course that you would like the library to purchase as an ebook please contact us and let us know.

Linking to Library Ebooks in Your Online Classroom

The library subscribes to several large ebook databases that contain books that the library either owns or subscribes to. The majority of our ebook databases allow for unlimited use by multiple users at one time. Ebooks do not need to be "checked out" and usually are not downloadable, but rather are accessed via a browser. All access is through OneLogin and does not require a library card (PLS library cards are no longer used for CSM materials as of January 2020).

  • Ebook Central: Our largest ebook database with thousands of books on a wide range of academic subjects
  • Ebsco Ebooks: Another large academic database with books on a wide variety of topics
  • Gale Ebooks: Select reference titles with encyclopedic information

The CSM Library catalog, OneSearch, allows direct linking to many of the library's resources including material owned, subscribed, and other open access resources. You can link to these materials using the permalink tool in OneSearch:

  1. Locate the resource you would like to link to in OneSearch.
  2. Make sure it has the green Available Online text. This means it is an online resource that can be linked to online. If a record does not have this information then it is not an online resource.
  3. Click on the Permalink button to display the permalink URL.
  4. Copy the permalink URL code and paste it into your Canvas course.
  5. When clicked on students will be brought to the OneSearch record and will then click on the Available Online link to be taken to the full-text item.

OneSearch record with permalink tool circled and the permalink URL highlighted

Ebook Central is one of the academic ebok database that the CSM Library subscribes to. You can link to the ebooks in this databaseby using the "Share Link to Book" link in the item's record:

  1. Locate the resource you would like to link to in Ebook Central.
  2. In the item record click on "Share Link to Book" in the left menu to open the "Share this book" pop-up.
  3. Copy the link from the box and paste it into your Canvas course.
  4. When clicked on, students will be taken directly to the item.

Ebook Central Share This Book Link

Ebsco Ebooks is one of the academic ebook databases that the CSM Library subscribes to. You can link to the ebooks in this database by using the Permalink tool link in the item's record:

  1. Locate the resource you would like to share in Ebsco Ebooks.
  2. In the item record click on Permalink in the right menu which will open the permalink box above the title.
  3. Copy the link from the box and paste it into your Canvas course.
  4. When clicked on, students will be taken directly to the item.
  5. Note that you MUST use the permalink displayed in the permalink box for sharing; any other copied URL from your browser will not work when shared.

Ebsco Ebooks Permalink Instructions

Gale Ebooks is one of the ebook databases that the CSM Library subscribes to. This database contains several and encyclopedic titles that allows linking directly to articles. You can link to an article in a Gale Ebook by using the Get Link tool in the article's record:

  1. Locate the encyclopedia article or chapter you would like to share in Gale Ebooks.
  2. In the item record click on Get Link in the upper menu which will open the Get Link pop-up box.
  3. Copy the link from the box and paste it into your Canvas course.
  4. When clicked on, students will be taken directly to the article.
  5. Note that you MUST use the permalink displayed in the permalink box for sharing; any other copied URL from your browser will not work when shared.

Gale Ebook Get Link instructions

Linking to Library-licensed Articles in Your Online Classroom

Like library owned and subscribed ebook databases above, the CSM Library subscribes to over 150 databases with licensed content that allows for easy sharing in your classroom. The examples in the tabs above show how to locate the sharing links for our most prominent databases (Ebsco, ProQuest, Gale, and JSTOR) but nearly all of our databases provide tools for sharing permalinks in your classes.

Keep in mind that just sharing the URL from your browser may not always work when sharing links to library content. Many of our databases have a specially coded URL used for sharing called a permalink. Copying and pasting a URL from your browser may results in an error when you try to share with your class.

When in any database look for the following options to locate and share the links to library content:

  • Share a link
  • Permalink
  • Get a link
  • Share
  • Link
  • Copy link
  • Embed/Link

Some databases may also use icons such as the share icon (share icon) or the link icon (link icon) to indicate where you can get a shareable link to library content.

Permalinks in Ebsco databases

Permalink for ProQuest articles

Permalinks for Gale articles