Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Election Day - November 2020

This library research guide provides resources related to the November 2020 election and information about voting.

News Databases

This news collection includes international, national, and local news sources from around the globe. Includes access to the San Francisco Chronicle (1984-present) and other Bay Area newspapers. This collection also includes magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswires and covers topics on a wide variety of areas.

Provides access to full text articles or links to news sources. Searches four EBSCO news databases at once: Newspaper Source Plus; Newswires; Regional Business News; and Web News.

Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.

A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.

Provides full text articles from 800+ newspapers, as well as thousands of television and radio news transcripts.

Personal News Accounts

New York Times [nytimes.com]  CSM only logo

Online access to one of the most respected names in journalism. Account sign in required for full access. Click below to create a free NYT student account.

  1. Visit the CSM Library's NYT link to create your account—Students, staff, and faculty of CSM are eligible:
  2. Follow the prompts to create your account.
    Once created you can access your account anywhere.
  3. Log in and out as needed in the app or online to access the news and account settings.

If you ALREADY HAVE an existing CSM Library NY Times account and need to renew your registration, follow these directions:

  1. Log out of NYT on all applicable devices
  2. Go to accessnyt.com and look up "College of San Mateo"
  3. Choose the off-campus option by clicking the Go button towards bottom of page
  4. Log into the campus network (you should then be redirected to the NYT registration page)
  5. On the NYT registration page, click on "Already have an account? Log in here"
  6. Input your existing login credentials
  7. Click "Log In"
  8. Your registration will be renewed for another year

The New York Times inEducation is a faculty subscription that provides curated content designed to be used in the classroom. Use the inEducation registration page to register for this subscription (school email address required).

Wall Street Journal  CSM only logo

A business focused US news source, published by Dow Jones & Company. Account sign in required for full access. To create your free account, follow the steps below:

  1. Visit our WSJ Partner  CSM only logo site to create your free account—Students, staff, and faculty of CSM are eligible. On-campus registration requirements temporarily suspended. Off-campus registration now available. 
  2. Follow the prompts to create your account. Be sure to sign up using your school email address.
    Once created you can access your account anywhere.
  3. Log in and out as needed in the app or online to access the news and account settings.

 

​ACCESS KEY:

  • SMCCD only logo = Databases with content only for use by students, faculty, and staff of any of the SMCCD colleges
  • CSM only logo = Databases with content only for use by CSM students, faculty, and staff; use OneLogin to access