Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 100 Mangin (Spring 2020)

Guide supports the BTWAM Essay and the Research Essay for Sarah Mangin's ENGL 100/105 classes.

Databases For Background Research

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.

CQ Researcher

In-depth reports on current social issues and problems from Congressional Quarterly.

ProQuest Research Library

ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

SIRS Issues Researcher

This database contains full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 1,500 domestic and international publications.

Biography In Context (Gale)

Biographical reference, magazine, and journal articles.

Films on Demand

The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 3,000 videos and 33,000 segments - all Closed Captioned. These videos cover topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The video content can be linked with any course management system and used by faculty and students.

General OneFile (Gale)

A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.

Newspapers and News Databases

News Databases

Provides access to full text articles or links to news sources. Searches four EBSCO news databases at once: Newspaper Source Plus; Newswires; Regional Business News; and Web News.

NYTimes.com

The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access available.

(You must be on campus to create an account. Once the account is created you can access your account anywhere--create an account, by filling out the form.)

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.

Wall Street Journal (WSJ)

Wall Street Journal (WSJ) is a business US news source. To have full access you need to create your own free account:

1. Visit www.wsj.com/CoSM while on CSM campus.
2. Sign up using your CSM email address.
3. Access www.wsj.com anywhere (on campus and off-campus)

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)

Provides full text articles from 800+ newspapers, as well as thousands of television and radio news transcripts. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.

Nexus Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Nexis Uni™ features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news and information on the countries of the world. Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information is included.

eBook Collections

Access Ebook Central and eBook Collection (EbscoHost) using your student email and password. Access to Overdrive is available using your public library card from  Peninsula Library System library.

Related Books

book cover for Autobiography of Malcolm X