Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 105 Mangin (Sp 2021)

Between the World and Me and Final Essay

When searching an article database..

When searching CSM Library databases (see the link above) consider the following:

  • use "advanced search"
  • limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles (in addition to full-text and time frame..)
  • check the references - and consider following them (i.e. searching for the articles listed in the references)
  • check the journal title - and consider searching/browsing this particular journal
  • read the summaries, abstracts and subjects to expand vocabulary
  • if the terms you thought of do not bring any results , check Thesaurus or Subject Terms or "Look up subjects"
  • try different databases on the same subject - and the "multi-disciplinary" ones as well
  • quickly scan the article you see for the terms you used to search. The terms might be highlighted; if not, use CTRL+F (Command+F on Mac)
  • watch the "Generating search terms" video (see the link below) 

Advantages of Article Databases

Why not just use Google????

  • library databases contain full text of articles ↓
    • you must make sure you selected "full text" from the search interface
  • you can narrow your search to particular dates, to scholarly (or peer-review) articles, to articles on particular subject, etc. ↓
    • select the limits on the "Advanced Search" page or in the search results page - it only takes a couple of minutes to look through the interface 
  • articles come with ready citations..though it is up to you to make sure the citations are correct ↓
    • look for the "cite" or "email" links or icons on the page.

Video: searching Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)