Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Care Careers

This guide explores various common healthcare career options for students.

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics - Information for Student

Learn about the roles, job outlook, educational and professional requirements, financial aid and employment opportunities for Registered Dietitian Nutritionists (RDNs) as well as Nutrition and Dietetics Technicians, Registered (NDTRs). 

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics - FAQs About Careers in Dietetics

Considering a career as a RDN or NDTR? Here you will find answers to 12 of the most commonly asked questions.


Related Entries from the Occupational Outlook Handbook
Related Entries from ExploreHealthCareers.org

American Occupational Therapy Association - For Prospective Students

Learn about job outlooks, glimpse into therapy sessions with clients, hear current practitioner stories, see the diversified faces of occupation therapy and more.

American Occupational Therapy Association - FAQs on Occupational Therapy Education and Career Planning

AOTA offers answers to frequently asked questions about OT education and career planning such as what should I major in at the undergraduate level if I apply to an entry-level master's or an entry-level doctoral program, what is a combined entry-level bachelor's/master's degree program, etc.


Related Entries from the Occupational Outlook Handbook
Related Entries from ExploreHealthCareers.org

The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) - Becoming a PT

APTA provides details on how to become a Physical Therapist and includes information on Physical Therapist Education and Licensure as well as choosing the right Doctor of Physical Therapy (DPT) program.   

The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) - Becoming a PTA

Provides details on how to become a Physical Therapist Assistant and includes information on where they work, Physical Therapist Assistant Education and Licensure as well as choosing the right PTA program.  

The American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) - PT Admission Process

Provides information on how students can prepare or the admission process - research DPT programs, check prerequisites, consider how you may complete any prerequisite courses for your designated DPT program in addition to the college/university's degree and major requirement, check other requirements such as minimum GPA, physical therapy volunteer experience, etc.


Related Entries from the Occupational Outlook Handbook
Related Entries from ExploreHealthCareers.org

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists - Learn about the profession

Learn about the different professional disciplines in radiology, what they do, where to find educational programs, state licensing and more.

American Society of Radiologic Technologists - Careers in Radiologic Technology

Learn about the careers in radiologic technology - what radiologic technologists do and what they can specialize in such as radiographers, computer tomography technologists, cardiac interventional technologists, vascular interventional technologists, magnetic resonance technologist, mammographers, bone densitometry technologists, nuclear medicine technologists, sonographers, radiologist assistants, etc. 


Related Entries from the Occupational Outlook Handbook
Related Entries from ExploreHealthCareers.org

Athletic Trainer

Information for perspective students from the National Athletic Trainers' Association.  You will learn about the profession (what athletic training is and who athletic trainers are), the athletic training education (Professional education, continuing education, doctoral programs and post-professional residency programs), how to become certified, the job settings and more.

Audiologist

Information for perspective students from the Academy of Doctors of Audiology. The profession of Audiology is growing with expanded career opportunities. This expansion is primarily due to the increasing numbers of older persons, the fact that people are living longer, and the relationship of hearing loss to aging.   You will learn about the evolution and business of audiology, the working conditions, employment, educational requirements, job outlook and more.  

Cardiovascular perfusion technology

Occupational description and certification information from the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs.  A perfusionist operates extracorporeal circulation and autotransfusion equipment during any medical situation where it is necessary to support or temporarily replace the patient’s circulatory or respiratory function. 

Communication Sciences & Disorder Professions

Get an overview of the types of work involved in Communications Sciences and Disorders (CSD) from American Speech-Language-Hearing Association.  Careers include Audiologists, Speech-Language Pathologists (SLP), Speech, Language & Hearing Research, Audiology and SLP assistants.

Cytotechnology

Profession description and certification information from Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs.  Cytotechnologists are specially trained technologists who work with pathologists to evaluate cellular material from virtually all body sites primarily utilizing the microscope. 

Emergency Medical Sciences

Occupational description and certification information from the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs.  Also, fiind out how to become an Emergency Medical Technician in California from CA Emergency Medical Services Authority and the difference between an EMT or a paramedic from UCLA Center for Prehospital Care.

Epidemiology

A career in epidemiology typically begins with a bachelor’s degree in biology, medicine or other biological science. Epidemiologists then typically obtain a master’s in public health focusing on biostatistics, behavioral studies, immunology, health services and administration and epidemiological methods. Learn what epidemiologist does, where they work, how to become one and about job growth and salary outlook for epidemiologists.  From Milken Institute School of Public Health, The George Washington University.

Midwifery

Find out about the midwifery profession, the pathways to midwifery education, programs for aspiring midwives to consider, financial aid and more from American College of Nurse-Midwives. Also, check out the resources for aspiring midwives from Midwifery Education Accreditation Council.

Nuclear Medicine Technology

Nuclear medicine technologists prepare and administer small amounts of radioactive substances called radiopharmaceuticals, as well as other medications, to patients for diagnosis and treatments. Find out about careers in nuclear medicine technology, technologist's role, future, opportunities, career alternatives, educational programs and certification.  From Society of Nuclear Medicine & Molecular Imaging.  

Rehabilitation counseling

Learn about the educational and certification requirements, job duties and placement opportunities for Rehabilitation Counseling from U.S. Department of Education. Rehabilitation Counselors and Rehabilitation Counselor Aides may work in a wide variety of settings, including State Vocational Rehabilitation agencies, Independent Living Centers, Community Rehabilitation Programs, Alcohol and Drug programs, Mental Health Centers, Federal Government and private non-profit rehabilitation programs. 

Respiratory Therapy

Find out how to become an Respiratory Therapist and about the difference between the two principal credentials: CRT and RRT, advancement opportunities, accredited schools, employment outlook, scholarships and more from American Association for Respiratory Care. 

Speech-language pathology

Discover the steps it takes to become a Speech-Language Pathologist from SpeechPathologyGraduatePrograms.org.  You will also learn about the different graduate program options, state licensing requirements, national certification, specialized areas of practice, earning potential, and more. 

Surgical Technology

Profession description and certification information from Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs. Surgical technologists are members of operating room teams, which include the surgeon(s), anesthesiologist and circulating nurse. Surgical technologists work under the delegatory authority and supervision of the surgeon.


Related Entries from the Occupational Outlook Handbook
Related Entries from ExploreHealthCareers.org