Research Guides: ENGL 105 (Prof. Lau) Fall 2021: Background Research

Searching for CSM Library Books and Articles in One Search

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

How to Search the OneSearch (library catalog)

Always start with "Advanced Search"

It is a bit complex but it's worthwhile. You will have plenty of options to limit (focus) your results. Note the initial choices (1st picture below):

alongside the top - Search for "Everything" or "Articles"?
on the left and on the right - all of them with drop-down menu options (black arrow pointing down)

Enter your search terms. Do not be too specific - one or two words would suffice to begin with. (Have you watched "Finding search terms" video?)

Note that search results bring more options on the left side (2nd picture below) - "Available online", "Peer-reviewed", etc. Note the number of results - an indictator to broaden or narrow your search.

eBooks Databases

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 easy to access online books. Browse by subjects - literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology - or use the search box.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of digital books, including academic titles and popular fiction, for reading online. Most of these titles are currently NOT available in OneSearch; please search through the database here to locate titles.
Libby (formerly Overdrive; PLS library card required) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Libby gives you access to popular fiction and non-fiction ebooks & audio books. A PLS Library card is required in order to access Libby and check out titles, and title availability varies according to home PLS library branch. To get a free PLS Library card visit any public library in San Mateo County, or apply online: https://plsinfo.org/get-a-library-card/.
Gale Ebooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library: GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Select from the list of reference titles available to CSM through the Gale Virtual Library. Note that some of them are multi-volume books.
O'Reilly Learning (formerly Safari Books Online) This link opens in a new window
This collection includes thousands of hours of video, exclusive books, learning experiences, case studies, and certification prep for a wide variety of tech-, business-related topics including programming, web and mobile design, hardware, security, and more. This database also includes books a wide variety of topics beyond technology.

Encyclopedia & Dictionary

Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica Online Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
ABC-CLIO Solutions This link opens in a new window
This database offers curated collections of primary sources, expert perspectives, and reference material on the following subjects: The African American Experience, The American Indian Experience, The Latino American Experience, Modern Genocide, Pop Culture Universe, World Religions
Gale Ebooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library: GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Select from the list of reference titles available to CSM through the Gale Virtual Library. Note that some of them are multi-volume books.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative source on the English language, with a focus on etymology and historical usage.