Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 100 YJH 32156 with Peter Bruni 6:30 PM - 9:20 PM WEDNESDAY SPRING 2022

This Libguide supports students research needs in the Spring 2022 semester ENGL 100 taught by Peter Bruni on Wednesday Evenings

FOR YOUR SPECIFIC RESEARCH ASSIGNMENT

For your specific assignment of comparing two economic systems begin with a clear definition of each system by using a real encyclopedia such as Funk & Wagnalls.

From the abstract but very detailed definitions in the encyclopedia, now think about a country where capitalism or communism has been adopted. If you are not sure where, Try  a search for the word "Communist" in CountryWatch or  Country Background Notes.

Now if you have a specific country in mind, look further in those two country database or move over to Academic Search Complete.

Savvy Essential Tips for Using and Learning to Use Research Resources

The essential applied research skills can be learned in this guide in approximately 100 minutes. Downloadable PDF handouts are included.

This Libguide is presented in 4 sections:

  • Essentials Tips to using Library resources
  • 3 Tips for using Library databases
  • Effective Boolean Searching
  • Domain limited Google Searching
  • Web evaluation techniques.

ESSENTIAL TIPS FOR LIBRARY RESEARCH

Consider “library databases” as the primary tool that you use.

  • Use of  a “library database” generally means you do not need to apply brain power to determine whether or not the content is reliable, accurate, or presented by someone with authority.  Nothing is perfect, but the probability is high in library databases that bad papers are retracted and honest mistakes are corrected and acknowledged.
  • When using library databases published by EBSCO the search system will help suggest synonyms for your search. This can be very helpful when starting. Most library databases will produce a MLA or APA citation for you.

Out of habit you may want to start to orientate yourself with a search in Google. If you do, conduct a domain-limited Google search to filter out poor quality sources.

  • Internet sources should used be a complement to Library databases. Authoritative and accurate web-based content can provide in some cases provide more up-to-date content that than found in library databases.
  • For each web based resource you use, you must be able to evaluate the source for expertise and quality.
  • For web content be prepared to write your own citation.

Make use of the Library Research Assistance Service (Reference Service)