English as a Second Language (ESL)

The Oxford Advanced American Dictionary helps students understand the meanings of words and how to use them correctly. It includes 145,000 words, phrases and meanings and 85,500 examples to show how words are used. It marks the Oxford 3000(tm) words (the most important words to know in English) and Academic Word List words (the words you need to study in English). The Oxford Writing Tutor (included in the print dictionary) and the Oxford iWriter on the CD-ROM show students how to plan, write and review different types of writing. The Oxford American Dictionary Vocabulary Builder, available separately, provides 50 lessons with 130 activities to consolidate and extend vocabulary.

These remarkable new editions of the bestselling bilingual Oxford Picture Dictionary feature over 4,000 words and phrases illustrated with all new vibrant, crystal-clear artwork. The topics, based on extensive input from teachers and students, have been thoroughly updated to meet the needs of today's English language learners. Colour coding and topic icons make finding words easier than ever, and practice activities at the foot of each page ensure accurate and effective use of words.

Do you feel that it's "like pulling teeth" when you want to learn new sayings? Would you like to be able to discover new American idioms and phrases that will make communication "a piece of cake"? Sure, you can learn English with a language course or a textbook just fine, and climb up the ranks in terms of your grasp of the language... but are you sure you can talk like a native? For starters, many expressions used by fluent speakers of English can't exactly be learned in a book, and it can be frustrating to realize that your formal learning hasn't been enough to teach you the way people talk in real life. Sometimes, it's all about having the right tools at your disposal... and this is where The Great Book of American Idioms comes in! Written to act as a powerful addition to your other English-learning resources, this book will allow you to: Discover over 1300 different idioms and sayings, covering hundreds of different subjects Learn the correct definition and usage of each expression, ensuring that you know exactly when you can say them out loud during a conversation Visualize examples of the sayings in common conversations, helping you understand their context Take advantage of important tips we provide you in the introduction and conclusion of the book, so that you can boost your learning and get a much better understanding of the English language. What are you waiting for? Over 1300 idioms and expressions are awaiting you! Don't miss out on learning why this "dark horse" will help you "see the big picture"!

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquisition offers a user-friendly, authoritative survey of terms and constructs that are important to understanding research in second language acquisition (SLA) and its applications. The Encyclopedia is designed for use as a reference tool by students, researchers, teachers and professionals with an interest in SLA. The Encyclopedia has the following features: * 252 alphabetized entries written in an accessible style, including cross references to other related entries in the Encyclopedia and suggestions for further reading    * Among these, 9 survey entries that cover the foundational areas of SLA in detail: Development in SLA, Discourse and Pragmatics in SLA, Individual Differences in SLA, Instructed SLA, Language and the Lexicon in SLA, Measuring and Researching SLA, Psycholingustics of SLA, Social and Sociocultural Approaches to SLA, Theoretical Constructs in SLA. * The rest of the entries cover all the major subdisciplines, methodologies and concepts of SLA, from "Accommodation" to the "ZISA project." Written by an international team of specialists, the Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquisition is an invaluable resource for students and researchers with an academic interest in SLA.