Research Guides: Sociology: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Best Databases for Sociology

Start searching these databases with simple words and concepts, then move to more complex terms to narrow your searches. If you need help, don't hesitate to reach out to a librarian using chat.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ABC-CLIO Solutions This link opens in a new window
This database offers curated collections of primary sources, expert perspectives, and reference material on the following subjects: The African American Experience, The American Indian Experience, The Latino American Experience, Modern Genocide, Pop Culture Universe, World Religions
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
An online database collection on African American history and culture. Perfect for finding background information and primary sources on a broad range of topics.
Alt-Press Watch: Alternative Press Coverage (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text newspapers and magazines from alternative, independent presses. In-depth coverage of a broad range of critical issues including environment activism, disabilities, public policy, and facets of the political spectrum from some of the most respected and cited grassroots publications. Offers non-mainstream perspectives on a variety of issues.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This database brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, books, and other related materials. Its special collections social justice, LGBTQIA+, slavery, and gun violence.
Amerasia Journal This link opens in a new window
The leading interdisciplinary journal in Asian American and Pacific Islander studies. Full-text access to CSM Library available starting in 2019.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5: 1684-1912 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals and primary sources published between 1684 and 1912.
American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
The American Indian Experience is a digital resource that illuminates the histories and contemporary cultures of the Native peoples of North America.
Aztlan: A Journal of Chicano Studies This link opens in a new window
This journal from UCLA presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces and more. It seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Offers a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.
Biography And Genealogy Master Index This link opens in a new window
This index contains citations that point to over 15 million biographies on nearly 5 million people, living and deceased, from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor.
Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Biographical reference, magazine, and journal articles.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news and information on the countries of the world. Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information is included.
ComicsPlus This link opens in a new window
Graphic novel database provides access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from 100+ publishers. Note: Most content is not currently accessible for users needing assistive technologies. See the library for print alternatives.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center - is the largest source of education information, with almost 1.5 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. ERIC also contains links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Includes rich multimedia.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
This database offers timely and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
This informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism; training for paralegal service; preparing for a career in homeland security; delving into forensic science; investigating crime scenes; developing policy; going to court; writing sociological reports; and much more.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gale OneFile: Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This database covers topics of philosophies and religions in one comprehensive collection. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
GenderWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Explores the evolution of gender roles and enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.

Not sure where to start?

Try browsing some journals and publications by clicking the button below. Once you find an interesting title, view the table of contents or search within a publication.

Sociology Journals