Sociology

This is the first dictionary dedicated to the work of Jean Baudrillard (1929-2007). It explains and contextualises more than a hundred key concepts, terms, influences and topics within his thought. An essential reference for students and scholars of Baudrillard, it also serves as an authoritative overview of how his ideas have shaped a broad range of disciplines, from art, architecture, film and photography to sociology, philosophy, human geography, media studies and cultural studies.

Protest and political violence are concerns of global importance in the twenty-first century. This dictionary brings together in one comprehensive volume a number of key issues relating to the conduct of protest and political violence and the response of the state and police to such activities.

The International Encyclopedia of Economic Sociology is the first encyclopedia in the field and a timely response to the surge of interest in economic sociology over the last 30 years. Economic Sociology deals with the multiple and complex relations between economy and society. In particular, it focuses on the impact of social, political and cultur

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures And Daily Life, 3rd Edition, covers cultural groups in Asia and Oceania, Europe, the Americas, and Africa. Five volumes, organized for quick reference by continent, cover history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, rites of passage, and much more for culture groups such as Kurds, Amish, Germans and more than 530 others. Each two- to six-page entry is written and reviewed by subject experts who have in-depth knowledge of a particular world culture and the skill to translate their knowledge in terms that students can understand. The Encyclopedia also gives students a visual learning experience with more than 500 color photographs and 500 maps showing where each culture group lives. And, a glossary of terms offers quick reference for difficult or foreign terms.

Broadly defined as "ways of getting things done," the invisible yet powerful concepts of "informal practices" tend to escape articulation in official discourse. These practices include emotion-driven exchanges of gifts or favours and tributes for services, interest-driven know-how (from informal welfare to informal employment), identity-driven practices of solidarity, and power-driven forms of co-optation and control. Yet, the possible paradox of the indiscernibility of these informal practices is their ubiquity. Alena Ledeneva's wholly unique two-volume work collaborates with over two hundred scholars across five continents, illustrating how informal practices are deeply embedded across the globe yet still remain underestimated in policy-making procedures.

The Encyclopedia of the Social and Solidarity Economyis a comprehensive reference text that explores how the social and solidarity economy (SSE) plays a significant role in creating and developing economic activities in alternative ways. In contrast to processes involving commodification, commercialisation, bureaucratisation and corporatisation, the SSE reasserts the place of ethics, social well-being and democratic decision-making in economic activities and governance. Identifying and analysing a myriad of issues and topics associated with the SSE, the Encyclopedia broadens the knowledge base of diverse actors of the SSE, including practitioners, activists and policymakers. Analysing the role of SSE organisations and enterprises in enhancing wellbeing, planetary health and democracy at various levels and their contribution to achieving the Sustainable Development Goals, the Encyclopedia invaluably summarises knowledge about the key aspects of the SSE. Accomplished researchers depart from traditional nationalistic, Eurocentric and trans-Atlantic perspectives to explain the SSE from a global perspective with a focus on untold stories of its development in both developing and developed countries. A collective work of the UN Inter-Agency Task Force on SSE (UNTFSSE), this Encyclopedia will serve as an essential tool for scholars and students of comparative social policy, international economics, management studies and economic sociology. Key Features: 57 entries Clearly organised into thematic sections addressing histories, concepts and theories, actors and organisations, development, and environment and governance Breaks down the complex relationship between economic, social and political dimensions in an accessible way