Art & Art History

A Comprehensive Reference to Great Artists of the World From Finnish architect Alvar Aalto to Spanish painter Francisco de Zurbaran, the four-volume Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists provides concise profiles of the world's most important artists. Covering sculptors, architects, painters, video artists, and many other visual artists, this comprehensive reference details the lives and major works of prominent artists throughout history and around the world. Each entry offers basic biographical data on the artist, descriptive characteristics of the artist's creative output, significance of the work, career milestones, and locations where the artist's work is displayed. Profiles of those artists whose outstanding work is recognized as pivotal in the history of art receive extended, in-depth treatment. Further readings follow selected entries, and a glossary at the end of the fourth volume defines art-related terms. Accessible, Up-to-date, and Inclusive Biographies Organized in an A-to-Z format, Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists includes not only well-known artists, but also lesser-known individuals who in many cases are excluded from or glossed over in general surveys of art history. The profiles of artists who are not part of the canon of Western art give readers the opportunity to discover unfamiliar artists and develop a broader understanding of art history. Artists of the late 20th and early 21st centuries are covered, as are women and artists from other groups who have traditionally been underrepresented in art books. The ideal companion to Facts On File Encyclopedia of Art (see right), this biographical encyclopedia makes information about artists easy to find and readily available. Beautifully Illustrated with Informative Captions Each highly illustrated volume contains photographs or reproductions on almost every page. The abundant illustrations, many in full color, are accompanied by informative captions. An up-to-date chronology of artists and a comprehensive set index add to this accessible reference. Further readings are included for topics where additional research may be particularly useful.

"Included in this edition: " table of parallel illustrations in Stokstad's Art History (Revised Edition), Hartt's Art (Fourth Edition), Gardner's Art Through the Ages (Eleventh Edition), and Janson's History of Art (Sixth Edition) additional iconographical entries and examples update of previous entries relating to ancient, medieval, and Renaissance art expanded chronology of painters, sculptors, photographers, and architects with phonetic pronunciations index, including terms and subjects defined with major entries A comprehensive supplement to Janson's History of Art, Sixth Edition, this handbook, which can stand alone as a brief reference text, defines and explains the most common terms and concepts used in discussing the history of visual arts. The handbook places art terms, processes, and principles in historical contexts with references to more than 1,200 illustrations in the Janson text. "Among its many features, this handbook: " offers a dictionary of terms, processes, and principles, together with an extensive discussion of basic perceptual concepts and fundamentals of visual literacy presents a dictionary of the iconography of ancient art covers Christian subjects and their iconography in chronological order focuses on Christian symbols and attributes of saints provides a more complete, systematic treatment of the media, techniques, processes, and visual principles than explored in the standard art survey texts includes maps and line drawings to illustrate concepts in the text

Booklist/Reference Books Bulletin 20 Best Bets for Student Researchers 2002 This lavishly illustrated full-color encyclopedia provides a complete survey of world art from prehistory to the present. More than 400 A-to-Z entries written by scholars and area specialists cover painting, sculpture, photography, architecture, movements and genres around the world -- from Europe and Asia to South America and the Middle East. Designed with more than 500 color illustrations, sidebars, timelines, cross-references, definitions in the margins and other student-friendly features, Schirmers Encyclopedia of Art is the most authoritative, comprehensive art resource for students available.

This guide provides critical analysis of approximately 400 20th-century Hispanic artists from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, Central and South America, and American artists of Spanish descent. Detailed entries typically include biographical information; a list of individual exhibitions and a select list of group exhibitions; lists of museums and public galleries holding works by a given artist in their permanent collections; publications by and about the artist; a statement by the artist about his/her work (as available); and more.

This reference work deals with all aspects of Western art from 1300 to the present day. It provides information on painters, sculptors, and graphic artists, technical processes, terminology, theory, schools, movements, patrons and collecting, and much more.