Dance

The Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance offers the student, teacher, choreographer, historian, media critic, ethnographer, and general reader an overview of the evolution and social and religious significance of folk dance.

Provides thorough coverage of artists, works, companies, periods, performances, schools, collections and selected forms, and trends and innovations in modern dance.

In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, music and costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.

This new dictionary by two leading and authoritative writers on dance provides the information necessary for dance fans to navigate the diverse modern dance scene. With an emphasis on performance the dance we see in theatres today - readers will find both fact and analysis on a wide range of subjects from dancers and choreographers to dance styles and technical terms." "Readership: General dance fans, as well as dance students and teachers.

From African total theater to philanthroproductions to early modern performance, The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Theater stretches around the globe and from the cutting edge of performance studies back in time to the age of Shakespeare. The handbook presents innovative essays from both young and seasoned scholars, and from scholar/practitioners who are working at the cutting edge of their fields. The essays offer new insight into well-studied areas, challenge current knowledge, attend to neglected practices or moments in time, and identify emergent themes. The overall result is a better understanding of the roles of dance and theater in the performative production of meaning. -- from dust jacket.

Whether you want to learn new steps, bone up on tap history, or simply enjoy the rich vocabulary of one of America's greatest dance traditions, you'll find everything you need in this dictionary.
The language of tap dancing is as rich and varied as that of any art, and different choreographers, teachers and performers often use totally different terms for exactly the same step. The various names of all steps and clear descriptions of them are collected for the first time in this reference work. The emphasis is on all variations of a name, from universally recognized terms to simple "pet" names that individual performers and choreographers have created, with extensive cross-references provided. Each of the steps is fully described, with appropriate counts, explanations and history.

The definitive guide to classical ballet - Experience the beauty and grace of ballet with this comprehensive guide. Fully describes and defines over 1,100 ballet steps, movements, poses and concepts.