Research Guides: Astronomy: Other Useful Resources

Astronomy on the Web

Other Astronomy Resources

In addition to library resources, a variety of online tools and physical astronomy facilities are available to enhance your research and observational experience. The following list highlights these resources, offering valuable access to data, research studies, videos, live content, educational opportunities, and events for a comprehensive exploration of astronomy:

Astrophysics Data System (ADS)
Operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, this digital library offers access to over 15 million records across astronomy, astrophysics, physics, and general science. It features searchable abstracts, full-text publications, and links to external resources, including arXiv e-prints.
CSM Observatory
The CSM Observatory hosts "Jazz Under the Stars," a free monthly stargazing event, supports the CAMS project for meteor shower research, and features a unique "roll-off" roof design for optimal astronomical observations.
CSM Planetarium
The CSM Planetarium offers monthly "The Sky Tonight" shows, hosts SMCAS meetings with public talks, and provides the "Project Star Gaze" program for young students, featuring free field trips with interactive astronomy experiences.
Earth and Space Science Open Archive (ESSOAr)
The Earth and Space Science Open Archive is a community platform established to accelerate the open discovery and dissemination of research in earth, environmental, and space sciences by archiving and sharing early research outputs, including preprints, presentations from major scientific meetings, and important documents of scholarly societies.
NASA+
NASA+ is a streaming service designed to present live coverage of NASA’s missions, launches, research activities, and other ongoing projects undertaken by the agency.
NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database (NED)
A comprehensive resource for multiwavelength data on extragalactic objects, integrating information from numerous sky surveys and research publications across the entire electromagnetic spectrum.
Planetary System Data (PDS)
An archive and source of scientific data from NASA planetary missions, astronomical observations, and laboratory measurements.
San Mateo County Astronomical Society
The San Mateo County Astronomical Society promotes astronomy through educational outreach, scientific research, and community engagement.