Research Guides: Math: Introduction to Math guide

Fuelling Innovation and Discovery: Mathematical Sciences in the 21st Century

Mathematical Sciences in 2025

Mathematical Sciences in 2025
"The Mathematical Sciences in 2025 examines the current state of the mathematical sciences and explores the changes needed for the discipline to be in a strong position and able to maximize its contribution to the nation in 2025. It finds the vitality of the discipline excellent and that it contributes in expanding ways to most areas of science and engineering, as well as to the nation as a whole, and recommends that training for future generations of mathematical scientists should be re-assessed in light of the increasingly cross-disciplinary nature of the mathematical sciences".

HOW TO USE THIS GUIDE

Use the TABS ABOVE ↑ to find different resources:

Books/eBooks: links to selected books in print, in the catalog.The option to start searching the library catalog of books is present on every page - just use the "Search" ↑ box above.

Math Reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks: online and in print.

Tutorials on the Web: links to tutorials, portals - and more! Help to understand concepts and practice!

Courses on the Web: quite a few organizations and institutions, including top universities, offer access to full course information (i.e. texts, assignments, lectures) to peruse at your free time; some offer actual enrollment, with a possibility of earning a certificate of completion. Browse and consider.

Articles and Databases: links to selected databases of articles and periodicals.

Citing Resources: links to resources that will help you create citations and "works cited" list (also called "bibliography" or "reference list")

How Math is Connected..

The illustration below is from "The Mathematical Sciences in 2025", a report published by National Academies Press.

$how math is connected$

Library Quick Links

OneSearch Library Catalog
Search the CSM Library and SMCCD college libraries catalogs for both print and ebooks, articles from select databases, and open access resources.
CSM Library Databases
View and search all of the CSM Library databases.
Manage Your Library Account
CSM students are issued a library account when they enroll in classes. No applications needed. Use your OneLogin/Canvas username and password to access online databases. No cards are being issued. Students and staff will use their campus credentials to log in to OneSearch. You can see your checked items, address, saved searches, etc.
Find a Specific Periodical
Need to find out if CSM subscribes to a specific magazine, newspaper or journal? Use this search tool to find out about CSM Library's print or electronic subscriptions for magazines, newspapers or journals.
Library Hours
See this semester's hours and closures