Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOCI 121 / PSYC 120 Introduction to Research Methods

Social Issues Databases for Finding the Topic

These database have few if any scholarly materials - but they are great help in finding an interesting topic. Instead of using the search box, look for links or tabs like "View all Issues", "Browse issues", "Browse topics", etc.

Social Research Databases - the "Best Bet"

Additional Sociology and Psychology Databases

Look for scholarly journals (not just articles)

Scholary articles are, for most part, written for scholarly journals (which run the peer-review process). Journals usually cover either one or a couple of related science areas. Once you find one or two articles which seem to fit your subject - why not try to check whether the journal in which these articles were published has more articles that are relevant? And why not look for other journals within the same subject area?

On the CSM database pages, look at the menu on the left side - and use the "Full Text Journals and Magazines" link.

Next - either search for the journal title or browse the subject area.

Access Library databases from off-campus

Library databases can be accessed from on-campus networks and you can also use those databases from off-campus networks. You will need to login with your OneLogin account to access these databases from off-campus.

Identify the database you'd like to use from the CSM Library Database page.
If you are accessing the databases while using the CSM campus network (including wifi network), you should gain direct access by clicking on the title.
If you are accessing the databases while using a non-CSM campus network (ex: at home, work, on smartphone with data connections, etc), click on the title of the databases and you will be asked to login to your OneLogin account before entering the database.