Research Guides: English as a Second language (ESL): Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Online Encylopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica Online Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Jeffrey Lehman (Editor); Robert Dassanowsky (Editor)
Call Number: ONLINE, accessible through link on the CSM Library website
Publication Date: 1999

Print Encylopedia and Dictionaries

If you need to define a word or know about a topic, this is a good place to start.

This page describes print and online books that will help you understand, spell, and pronounce English words. These books can also help you learn about topics in North American history and culture.

Dictionaries have short definitions of words. Encyclopedias have longer descriptions of words as well as historical events, maps, ideas, and people.

Ask a librarian for help finding these and other books - we are here to help!

Oxford Picture Dictionary: English-Arabic
Call Number: PJ6640.A34 2009
Oxford Picture Dictionary: English-Chinese
Call Number: PL1455.A34 2009
Oxford Picture Dictionary: English-Korean
Call Number: PE1629.S52 2009
Oxford-Duden Pictorial English-Japanese Dictionary
Call Number: Ref/PL679.P29 1983
This book is on the first floor in the reference section.
Oxford Picture Dictionary: English-Spanish
Call Number: PC4629.A34 2009
Located upstairs in the circulating collection.
Random House Webster's College Dictionary
Call Number: PE1628.R28 1997
Located in the reference section.

Online Dictionaries (free access)

Merriam Webster Online Dictionary
This dictionary will guess at the word you need even if you cannot spell it exactly right.
Merriam Webster's Visual Dictionary
This tool uses pictures to help you understand the definitions of words.
Merriam-Webster's Learner's Dictionary for ESL
This dictionary of American English is great for ESL students. Includes practice exercises.