Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Honors Project Seminar - IDST - FALL 2020 - Humanities

When Searching Any Full-Text Book Database or Repository...

...remember to limit your search to subject or title; use advanced search whenever possible. 

When searching an article database..

When searching article databases in CSM collection, consider the following:

  • use "advanced search"
  • limit your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed articles (in addition to full-text and time frame..)
  • check the references - and consider following them (i.e. searching for the articles listed in the references)
  • check the journal title - and consider searching/browsing this particular journal
  • read the summaries, abstracts and subjects to expand vocabulary
  • if the terms you thought of do not bring any results , check Thesaurus or Subject Terms or "Look up subjects"
  • watch the "Generating search terms" video
  • try different databases on the same subject - and the "multi-disciplinary" ones as well
  • quickly scan the article you see for the terms you used to search. The terms might be highlighted; if not, use CTRL+F (Command+F on Mac)

CSM Library Videos That Will Guide You Through the Search Process

A reminder about exploring the interface; example: Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

  • The screenshot below shows you the options you can select to focus your search and limit the number of found articles.
  •  These options in different databases might be named differently (e.g. "scholarly vs. "peer reviewed") or placed differently on the interface - do take a moment to figure out where they are...

EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier advanced search menu with options

  • once you find an article that fits your criteria, explore its record in the database: 
    • follow the link=author's name to see if she wrote other articles on the subject
    • follow the link=journal name to search only this journal for 
    • check the links=subjects