Cosmetology

As new techniques and methods are developed in the field of cosmetology, new words are created that become a part of cosmetology terminology. Milady's Illustrated Cosmetology Dictionary, 3rd Edition is comprised of words and phrases that are used in connection with cosmetology and are defined in their sense of relationship to anatomy, cosmetic chemistry, electricity, dermatology, esthetics, hair structure and chemistry, nutrition, color, massage therapy and professional skills.

A three-volume survey of clothing, costume and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically. Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of historical eras.
See entries for: Western Cosmetics, Hair accessories, Hairstyles, Afro hairstyle, Wigs, and more.

An encyclopedic guide to concepts, theories, discoveries and pioneers in the fields of microbiology and immunology, for students and other researchers. Topical and biographical entries are alphabetically arranged and cross-referenced. Includes photographs and illustrations. 2 volumes.
Look for entries on infection control.

If you're like most people, you probably never think much about your skin. You probably take for granted that it holds you together, makes you look like you, and always erupts in zits at the most embarrassing times. Is there more? A great deal more, which you can begin to explore in this book with the answers to questions people often ask about the body's most complex organ, the skin.

Examples of body decoration from around the world.

Beauty is a multi-billion dollar global industry embracing make-up, skincare, hair care, fragrances and cosmetic surgery. Over the years, it has used flattery, seduction, science and shame to persuade consumers that they’ll have to invest if they want to look their best. In Branded Beauty, Mark Tungate delves into the history and evolution of the beauty business.

This text defines what constitutes cosmeceuticals and discusses various classes of products, from anti-ageing skin care and repair, anti-acne, and hair-growth compounds to agents for treating skin infections, rashes and irritations.

Cosmetology is packed with information on the hottest careers for beauty professionals, including what to expect from each, and how to select a career path. This book covers training programs on the high school/vocational school and postsecondary levels, what's required to get a license, interviews with top beauty professionals in every specialty, and advice on what it takes to make it in the real world of cosmetology. The appendices at the back of the book not only list the most important organizations in the field but also point readers toward helpful resources.

When is hair "just hair" and when is it not "just hair"? Documenting the politics of African American women's hair, this multi-sited linguistic ethnography explores everyday interaction in beauty parlors, Internet discussions, comedy clubs, and other contexts to illuminate how and why hair matters in African American women's day-to-day experiences.

Lead in lipstick? 1,4 dioxane in baby soap? Coal tar in shampoo? How is this possible? Simple. The $35 billion cosmetics industry is so powerful they’ve kept themselves unregulated for decades. Not Just a Pretty Face chronicles the quest that led a group of health and environmental activists to the world’s largest cosmetics companies to ask some tough questions.

Beauty has always been prized. [...] Today, it takes just as much (if not more) in brains and savvy to earn a living in the beauty industry as it does in any other highly competitive field. This field offers a wide variety of options.

This book is a comprehensive guide to customer service and client care for the salon industry. Readers learn how to build and retain a strong customer base, communicate effectively with clients, and generate an ideal salon ambiance. Complete with statistics, tips on computer software for salon use, and suggestions for staff maintenance, this resource contains all of the essential information on how to operate a successful salon.

Two women, virtual strangers, sit hand-in-hand across a narrow table, both intent on the same thing-achieving the perfect manicure. Encounters like this occur thousands of times each day across the United States in nail salons overwhelmingly owned and operated by Asian immigrants. This study looks closely at these intimate encounters, focusing on New York City, where such nail salons have become ubiquitous. Countering notions of beauty service establishments as spaces for building community among women, The Managed Hand finds that while tentative and fragile solidarities can emerge across the manicure table, they generally give way to even more powerful divisions of race, class, and immigrant status.

As new techniques and methods are developed in the field of cosmetology, new words are created that become a part of cosmetology terminology. Milady's Illustrated Cosmetology Dictionary, 3rd Edition is comprised of words and phrases that are used in connection with cosmetology and are defined in their sense of relationship to anatomy, cosmetic chemistry, electricity, dermatology, esthetics, hair structure and chemistry, nutrition, color, massage therapy and professional skills.

Examines the social and cultural significance of hair thoughout history.
Examines the ways in which hair has served as a signifier of class, gender, ethnicity, conformity/non-comfority, authority, and power throughout history.Broad topics in this book include hair arrangement/styling; care and cleansing; business and commercial aspects; laws and legal matters; trends and trendsetters; and health and science.

Everything that exists is made of atoms, and most of those substances contain groups of two or more of these bonded together to form molecules. Chemistry is the science of molecules. From cooking to medicine, from engineering to art, it is everywhere.

This highly popular, clinically focused textbook has made a huge impact with students worldwide. A team of authors with a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience has updated and revised this new edition to efficiently cover what you're learning in contemporary anatomy classes. Unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies demonstrate practical applications of anatomical concepts. And an international advisory board, comprised of more than 100 instructors, ensures that the material is accurate, up to date, and easy to use.

Designed for quick reference, this book explores the essential principles of infection control before moving on to an A–Z of the most commonly found infections. Each entry covers how the infection is spread, duration of the infectious period, key infection-control precautions, staff considerations, visitor information, and patient transfer advice.

The premier textbook for Cosmetology education.This new edition contains a completely revised section on infection control principles and practices, new procedures, and revised and updated chapters written by industry experts, as well as step-by-step procedures demonstrated specifically for left-handed individuals.

Presents a collection of exam questions and answers, test taking tips and strategies, and a practice test.

The rapidly expanding field of esthetics has taken a dramatic leap forward in the past decade, and this up-to-date text plays a critical role in creating a strong foundation for the esthetics student. Focusing on introductory topics, including history and opportunities in skin care, anatomy and physiology, and infection control and disorders, it lays the groundwork for the future professional to build their knowledge.

Cosmetology is packed with information on the hottest careers for beauty professionals, including what to expect from each, and how to select a career path. This book covers training programs on the high school/vocational school and postsecondary levels, what's required to get a license, interviews with top beauty professionals in every specialty, and advice on what it takes to make it in the real world of cosmetology. The appendices at the back of the book not only list the most important organizations in the field but also point readers toward helpful resources.

This new edition thoroughly explains the theory and application of the essential concepts of hair chemistry that are simply not covered in other texts. Material unique to this text boldly presents the concept, importance and relevance of pH in cosmetics. Hair Structure and Chemistry Simplified is the essential chemistry textbook for cosmetology students and even the most experienced hairstylist will gain confidence and control as they learn the dynamics of the chemical services they perform everyday in the salon.