Deeper Research

Now it's time to explore news, magazine, and journal articles. The library has some of these in print, but the majority are found in databases.

Use the Journal Finder tool if you know a specific newspaper, magazine, or journal title that you would like to find. This tool will direct you to the appropriate database, if we have access to it.

News & Current Events

News Sources

News Sources & Account Instructions (CSM Library) Find news sources available via CSM Library, including personal accounts and sign up instructions for New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the New York Times CSM students must register for an account through one of the CSM Library websites:
- Create an account from ON-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
- Create an account from OFF-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
Watch this short video to see how to set-up and access your account. More details about NY Times personal accounts.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ) This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal (WSJ) provides current news coverage on topics related to business. Full online and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the Wall Street Journal online, CSM students must register for an account:

1. Visit https://www.wsj.com/CoSM
2. Sign up using your CSM email address

Be sure to log in to your personal, CSM-created Wall Street Journal account each time you access the site for full access. Note that your personal login may be different from your OneLogin since it is a personally created account.
News Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text articles or links to news sources. Searches four EBSCO news databases at once: Newspaper Source Plus; Newswires; Regional Business News; and Web News.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news and information on the countries of the world. Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information is included.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic & Other Content

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Gale PowerSearch This link opens in a new window
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

Documentary & Educational Films

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 3,000 videos and 33,000 segments - all Closed Captioned. These videos cover topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The video content can be linked with any course management system and used by faculty and students.

Literary Criticism

Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical information on authors and critical reviews of works. Contains encyclopedia and journal articles.

Additional Research Tools

A-Z List of Databases Alphabetical list of databases and other online resources from CSM Library.
Journal Finder
Journal Finder helps you find specific journals, magazines, or news sources. You can search by title, keyword, ISSN, or browse journal titles by category.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request Can't find the specific article or book you need? We'll request it for you from another library. Additional processing time required.
Find Journals & More
Find Journals, Magazines and News sources

Subject Specific Databases

Academic & Other Content

Education, Environment, & Military

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The largest source of education information, with almost 1.5 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
This database includes journals and reference content from Delmar and diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, sustainable agriculture, and more. Includes academic, government and general-interest articles
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news related to all branches of the military and government; contains articles from over 400 publications.

History

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
U.S. History in Context: United States This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, and full-text journals on U.S. history.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers 20th century history, including reference sources, full-text articles, maps, images, and primary source documents.

Psychology

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. The database contains more than 560 full-text journals.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of nearly 80 APA journals in psychology, behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.

Science & Technology

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window
This database meets the needs of researchers with journal articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Computer Science provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Social Sciences

Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window
This content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. This database focuses on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index.

Statistics & Data

data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
data.census.gov is the new platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. You can find economic, demographic or housing information about your city, county, state - or the entire United States.