Research Guides: Computer Science: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Reference Sources

These references sources can provide you good background information on a variety of topics related to computer science.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science by Anthony Ralston (Editor); Edwin D. Reilly (Editor); David Hemmendinger (Editor)
ISBN: 9781561592487
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
The Encyclopedia of Computer Science has always been the definitive source for everyone who works with computers, computing, and computer science. This new, updated edition contains 623 articles from over 340 international experts in the field, including 100 completely new entries, 900 illustrations, and a 16-page color insert. Organized in an easily accessible format, the Encyclopedia of Computer Science, 4th Edition encompasses everything from the history of electronic computing to the most current research in cutting-edge computer technology.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Volumes 1-20 11th Edition by McGraw Hill
ISBN: 0071792732
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
From acoustics to zoology, the bestselling, authoritative encyclopedia that brings the latest in science and technology to students. All entries are commissioned from leading authorities in their fields; each is technically reviewed, signed, edited, illustrated, and produced to the highest standards for ease of access and comprehension.

Access Science This link opens in a new window
An online encyclopedia of science and technology.
Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica Online Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica