Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Reference Sources

These reference sources can provide you with good background information on a variety of topics related to ethnic studies

Dictionary of Race and Ethnic Relations by Professor Ellis Cashmore; Ellis Cashmore
ISBN: 9781138176010
Publication Date: 2016-12-22
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: REF/HN57.E594 2004
ISBN: 9780765680457
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts by Joseph R. Rudolph Jr. (Editor)
Call Number: GN496.E56 2016
ISBN: 9781610695527
Publication Date: 2015-12-07
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies by Ellis Cashmore (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415286749
Publication Date: 2003-11-04
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Angela Doolin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661742
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Jeffrey Lehman (Editor); Robert Dassanowsky (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787639860
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America by Kibibi Mack-Shelton (Editor)
Call Number: REF/E49.R33 2017
ISBN: 9781682173152
Publication Date: 2017-06-30

Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica Online Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative source on the English language, with a focus on etymology and historical usage.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Easy to read articles for beginning readers on a wide range of topics.