Dental Assisting

This book is designed to meet the needs of both dental students and dentists by providing succinct and quickly retrievable answers to common dental questions. Students will find both that it clearly presents the particulars which should be familiar to every dentist and that it enables them to see the big picture and contextualize information introduced to them in the future. Practicing dentists, on the other hand, will employ the book as a daily reference to source information on important topics, materials, techniques, and conditions. The book is neither discipline nor specialty specific. The first part is wide ranging and covers the essentials of dental practice while the second part addresses individual specialties and the third is devoted to emergency dental treatment. Whether as a handy resource in the student s backpack or as a readily available tool on the office desk, this reference manual fills an important gap in the dental literature.

Glossary of Dental Implantology provides a comprehensive, consensus-based global platform of dental implant terminology for effective communication among dental professionals, clinicians, clinical and basic science researchers, and scientists. Offers clear definitions for dental implant-related terms for use by the whole dental team Fosters a working knowledge of currently used dental implant terminology Helps team members to communicate more efficiently and effectively Presents a comprehensive guide for specialist and general dentists, dental students, residents, dental hygienists, and dental laboratory technicians Includes entries for hardware technology, regenerative materials, lasers, radiology, and more

The researchers involved in this reprint will continue their studies to improve the existent dental biomaterials in order to achieve optimal dental treatment with biocompatible, bioactive, and stable properties. As the Guest Editors, we sincerely value and thank the reviewers for their insightful comments and the support of the team at Bioengineering. Finally, we express our gratitude to all contributing authors for their valuable research. Altogether, the 16 research papers/reviews in this Special Issue entitled "Recent Advances in Biomaterials and Dental Disease" reflect the importance of in vitro and in vivo studies for improving the efficacy of using biomaterials in dental treatment.

Dental Public Health at a Glance Books in Wiley's Dentistry at a Glance series are ideal study aids for undergraduate dental students and recently qualified dentists. All follow the same student-friendly style; each chapter is presented in a double-page spread with clear, easy-to-follow diagrams, supported by succinct explanatory text. Dentistry at a Glance books are essential introductory guides to a wide range of topics in dentistry. The explanatory text outlines the key concepts and each bite-sized chapter is superbly illustrated to aid visual learning and understanding. Everything you need to know about Dental Public Health... at a Glance! Dental Public Health at a Glance presents a richly-illustrated introduction to dental and oral health issues in communities and populations. Offering comprehensive coverage of this increasingly important field, each topic is presented in an easy-to-comprehend two-page spread with essential facts clearly summarized and accompanied by tables, illustrations and diagrams. Dental Public Health at a Glance covers a wide range of key concepts including: Epidemiology Evidence-based dentistry Oral health promotion The relationship of fluoride, diet, smoking, and alcohol to oral health Assessment of health needs Quality assurance in the provision of dental care Considerations for a dental public health career Written by an expert in dental public health and offering illuminating insights into oral health at the population level, this is a must-have introductory textbook and revision guide for dentistry and dental hygiene and therapy students.

This resource from the American Dental Association helps train the dental team to prepare for, identify, and manage any health issues that may arise on site. Duty sheets with detailed instructions and four accompanying videos train each team member to prepare forf their tasks during a medical emergency. Topics include fainting, asthma attacks, allergic reactions, seizures, diabetic events, high and low blood pressure, strokes, cardiac arrest. provides three CE credits. Features: List of recommended equipment and supplies for a dental emergency kit; Detailed duty sheet instructing each team member of their tasks during a medical emergency; Step-by-step instructions to aid in identifying and managing common medical emergencies, such as: Fainting, Asthma attacks, Allergic reactions, Seizures, Diabetic events, High and low blood pressure, Strokes, Cardiac arrest. Staff training videos: It Won t Happen Here: Explains what constitutes a medical emergency, factors that increase the likelihood of a medical emergency, and the components of a medical emergency kit; My Role in a Crisis: Details the assignment and duties of roles in a medical emergency; Using Medical Equipment: Provides a brief overview on how to use common medical equipment during an emergency; Crisis in a Clinic: Shows a dental team successfully managing a medical emergency

The Handbook of Clinical Techniques in Pediatric Dentistry provides the clinician with an increased level of expertise and skills for timely identification and intervention for various presentations in the developing dentition. It also clearly describes procedures for treatment in the primary and young permanent dentitions, including pulp therapy for primary and young permanent molars, extractions, space maintenance, and more. The most commonly encountered treatment needs are discussed with the goal of increasing clinician and staff confidence while decreasing chair-time and stress. With an emphasis on practical instruction, The Handbook of Clinical Techniques in Pediatric Dentistry is ideal for pediatric and general dentists, pediatric residents, and dental students taking clinical pediatric courses.