Research Guides: Anthropology : Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Best Databases for Anthropology

Start searching these databases with simple words and concepts, then move to more complex terms to narrow your searches. If you need help, don't hesitate to reach out to a librarian using chat.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center - is the largest source of education information, with almost 1.5 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. ERIC also contains links to more than 337,000 full-text documents.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
The Latino American Experience is an online resource dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos in the United States. Perfect for background information, history, and primary sources for a broad range of topics.
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the New York Times CSM students must register for an account through one of the CSM Library websites:
- Create an account from ON-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
- Create an account from OFF-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
Watch this short video to see how to set-up and access your account. More details about NY Times personal accounts.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

Not sure where to start?

Try browsing some journals and publications by clicking the button below. Once you find an interesting title, use the catalog tools to view the table of contents or search within a publication.

Anthropology Journals