Research Guides: Accounting: Web Resources

New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the New York Times CSM students must register for an account through one of the CSM Library websites:
- Create an account from ON-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
- Create an account from OFF-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
Watch this short video to see how to set-up and access your account. More details about NY Times personal accounts.
Wall Street Journal (WSJ) This link opens in a new window
Wall Street Journal (WSJ) provides current news coverage on topics related to business. Full online and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the Wall Street Journal online, CSM students must register for an account:

1. Visit https://www.wsj.com/CoSM
2. Sign up using your CSM email address

Be sure to log in to your personal, CSM-created Wall Street Journal account each time you access the site for full access. Note that your personal login may be different from your OneLogin since it is a personally created account.

Note that you will find annual reports and SEC filings through databases like Business Insights: Essentials.

Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
AnnualReports.com (a division of IR Solutions) is an up-to-date listing of Annual Reports online.

EDGAR: SEC Company Filings
The EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to research a public company’s financial information and operations by reviewing the filings the company makes with the SEC. You can also research information provided by mutual funds (including money market funds), exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and variable annuities.

AICPA: American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
FASB: The Financial Accounting Standards Board
FASAB: Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board
PCAOB: Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board was created by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 and establishes auditing and related attestation, quality control, ethics, and independence standards and rules to be used by registered public accounting firms.
IRS for tax professionals
WebCPA
Tools and resources for the tax and accounting professional.
EDGAR: SEC Company Filings
The EDGAR database provides free public access to corporate information, allowing you to research a public company’s financial information and operations by reviewing the filings the company makes with the SEC. You can also research information provided by mutual funds (including money market funds), exchange-traded funds (ETFs), and variable annuities.

Career Info

Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
This US government reference describes hundreds of jobs. For each job, it describes the training needed, the salary, the working conditions, what people do in that job, and the outlook for that job in the future. Published by U.S. Department of Labor.
Students and CPA Candidates - AICPA
California CPA
California Board of Accountancy

Tax History Project
Tax History Project is a public service initiative from Tax Analysts. Established in 1995, the Project provides scholars, policymakers, journalists, and the general public with information on the history of U.S. public finance.
Understanding Taxes
IRS created that website specially for students: 38 lessons on How's and Why's of taxes
IRS Tax Information for Students (tax credits, student aid etc.)
IRS - Basic Tools for Tax Professionals
State of California Franchise Tax Board (FTB)