Skip to Main Content

Health Science

This guide provides links to information relevant to the HSCI 100 course - and for everyone interested in finding reliable information on prevalent health issues.

Search ALL CSM Library resources

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

Nutrition and Health

Salem Health by Salem Press Editors (Editor); Sharon Richman (Editor)
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016
The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health by Ronzio, Robert A.
Call Number: Online
Encyclopedia of Foods: A Guide to Healthy Nutrition
Call Number: Online
Dietary guidelines for Americans / U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Call Number: Online
Includes downloadable worksheets for food shopping and physical activity, tips for reading food labels, etc.
Dictionary of Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods by Eskin, N. A. M. Tamir, Snait
Call Number: Online
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by Bender, David A. Bender, Arnold E.
Call Number: Online
Cancer and HIV Clinical Nutrition Pocket Guide by Wilkes, Gail M.
Call Number: Online

Book and ebook examples

Magill's Medical Guide by Bryan C. Auday (General Editor); Michael A. Buratovich (General Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781619252141
Publication Date: 2018
A healthier you : based on the Dietary guidelines for Americans / U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Call Number: TX360.U6 H43 2005
A print copy.
Dietary guidelines for Americans / U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Call Number: Online
An online version.
Includes downloadable worksheets for shopping and physical activity, tips for reading food labels, etc.
Book of body maintenance and repair
Call Number: RA781.V53 1999

U.S. Health in International Perspective: Shorter Lives, Poorer Health

U.S. Health in International Perspective: Shorter Lives, Poorer Health by Steven H. Woolf and Laudan Aron, Editors
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013