Research Guides: Current Issues: Articles & Databases

Get to know your topic by searching news & hot topic databases

Now it's time to explore news, magazine, and journal articles. The library has some of these in print, but the majority are found in databases.

Use the Journal Finder tool if you know a specific newspaper, magazine, or journal title that you would like to find. This tool will direct you to the appropriate database, if we have access to it.

Featured Database: CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current social issues and problems from Congressional Quarterly.

Featured Database: SIRS

News and Current Issues Databases

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current social issues and problems from Congressional Quarterly.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, sustainable agriculture, and more. Includes academic, government and general-interest articles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from 800+ newspapers, as well as thousands of television and radio news transcripts. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.

Sample Search: "Homelessness"

This search comes from the General OneFile database, to show you an example of the kinds of articles you'll find when you search for your topic in a database. You can search for articles on any topic using the links in the Current Issues Databases box to the left.

Academic Databases for Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.