Research Guides: Celebrating African American History: Articles & Databases

Featured Database

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Detailed reports on issues in American society, history, and politics.
Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Articles from news, magazine, academic, and reference sources about important people in history.
U.S. History in Context: United States This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, and full-text journals on U.S. history.
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
An online database collection on African American history and culture. Perfect for finding background information and primary sources on a broad range of topics.

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window This streaming film and tv database has a Netflix style viewing experience, and features a selection of films from the majority of the major Hollywood studios as well as many independent, foreign, art house, and documentary offerings
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 3,000 videos and 33,000 segments - all Closed Captioned. These videos cover topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The video content can be linked with any course management system and used by faculty and students.
Dance in Video (vol. 1) This link opens in a new window Dance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.