Research Guides: ENGL Murphy: Educated by Tara Westover: Articles & Databases

Advantages of Article Databases

The CSM Library subscribes to over 100 databases to help CSM students with their courses and classwork. Databases usually contain collections of newspaper, magazine, and academic articles, but they can also contain ebooks, films, images, and other specific types of content.

The databases below have been chosen by your librarian as the databases most likely to have the kinds of articles that you will need for your paper. This is only a small sample of the CSM Library's many databases, and you can definitely explore databases outside of this list.

Why not just use Google?

library databases contain full text of articles → make sure you selected "full text" on the search interface
you can narrow your search to particular dates, to scholarly (or peer-review) articles, to articles on particular subject, etc. → select the limits on the "Advanced Search" page or in the search results page - it only takes a couple of minutes to look through the interface
articles come with ready citations..though it is up to you to make sure the citations are correct → look for the "cite" or "email" links or icons on the page.
try the databases listed on this page - or select one (after reading the descriptions) from this complete list of CSM Library databases

Academic Databases for Scholarly Articles, Newspapers, & Magazines

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of nearly 80 APA journals in psychology, behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
This database supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology.
PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new window
The PTSDpubs database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

Newspapers, Magazines, and more

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on current social issues and problems from Congressional Quarterly.

Outside Research and News Sites

New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the New York Times CSM students must register for an account through one of the CSM Library websites:
- Create an account from ON-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
- Create an account from OFF-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
Watch this short video to see how to set-up and access your account. More details about NY Times personal accounts.

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.
CNN
Los Angeles Times
National Public Radio (NPR) News
New York Times
San Francisco Chronicle