Research Guides: English & Literature: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Best Databases for English and Literature

Start searching these databases with simple words and concepts, then move to more complex terms to narrow your searches. If you need help, don't hesitate to reach out to a librarian using chat.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
The largest source of education information, with almost 1.5 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical information on authors and critical reviews of works. Contains encyclopedia and journal articles.
Pronunciator This link opens in a new window
Learn a vast number of languages with peerless amount of instructional content available — an average of 10,000 instructional phrases per language. Register to create an account and track your progress, or use Instant Access to jump right in.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

Not sure where to start?

Try browsing some journals and publications by clicking the button below. Once you find an interesting title, use the catalog tools to view the table of contents or search within a publication.

English Literature

English Language