Research Guides: Microbiology: Overview

Subject Guide: Microbiology

Welcome to the Microbiology Research Guide. You will find a comprehensive range of resources to support your exploration of microbiology and related topics. Alongside access to scholarly journals and databases in this guide, CSM Librarians can help you throughout your research in-person, via chat, or through one-on-one appointments.

Starting Research in Microbiology

Begin by identifying an area of interest, topic, or aspect of microbiology you would like to research
Do some informal background research using Google or Wikipedia if you need to understand more about a topic, and keep track of what you find.
Narrow down your topic to a specific question or issue, and isolate the major keywords of your topic or issue.
Using your keywords, try searching several different sources including the OneSearch catalog and individual databases
Consider consulting with a CSM librarian or your instructors for guidance and recommendations on relevant sources.
As you gather information, critically evaluate sources for credibility and relevance to your research topic.
Keep track of citations and take thorough notes to aid in the organization of your research findings.

Start with these databases

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Information from the National Institutes of Health and other sources on over 600 diseases and conditions
Biology Journals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and full-text from journals in the biological sciences.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This database helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.
Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles from medical disciplines, with an emphasis on nursing and allied health. The collection also include Medcom Video Training Programs Collection.
Access Science This link opens in a new window
An online encyclopedia of science and technology.

Then try these databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
All ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all of CSM Library's ProQuest databases at once. Includes ProQuest Research Library, Diversity Database, Ebook Central, and more.

Searching OneSearch

OneSearch is the CSM Library's catalog of all of print and ebooks, and millions of articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and more. OneSearch is a great place to start your search, but we recommend searching in individual databases as you proceed in your research.

More Ebooks

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 easy to access online books. Browse by subjects - literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology - or use the search box.
EBSCO eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of digital books, including academic titles and popular fiction, for reading online.

Microbiology