The CSM Library subscribes to many databases containing hundreds of thousands of full-text ebooks, articles, films, and more. There are several benefits to linking to CSM Library ebooks in your online classroom:
If you have a required non-textbook title for your course that you would like the library to purchase as an ebook please contact us and let us know.
The library subscribes to several large ebook databases that contain books that the library either owns or subscribes to. The majority of our ebook databases allow for unlimited use by multiple users at one time. Ebooks do not need to be "checked out" and usually are not downloadable, but rather are accessed via a browser. All access is through OneLogin and does not require a library card (PLS library cards are no longer used for CSM materials as of January 2020).
The CSM Library catalog, OneSearch, allows direct linking to many of the library's resources including material owned, subscribed, and other open access resources. You can link to these materials using the permalink tool in OneSearch:
Ebook Central is one of the academic ebok database that the CSM Library subscribes to. You can link to the ebooks in this databaseby using the "Share Link to Book" link in the item's record:
Ebsco Ebooks is one of the academic ebook databases that the CSM Library subscribes to. You can link to the ebooks in this database by using the Permalink tool link in the item's record:
Gale Ebooks is one of the ebook databases that the CSM Library subscribes to. This database contains several and encyclopedic titles that allows linking directly to articles. You can link to an article in a Gale Ebook by using the Get Link tool in the article's record:
Like library owned and subscribed ebook databases above, the CSM Library subscribes to over 150 databases with licensed content that allows for easy sharing in your classroom. The examples in the tabs above show how to locate the sharing links for our most prominent databases (Ebsco, ProQuest, Gale, and JSTOR) but nearly all of our databases provide tools for sharing permalinks in your classes.
Keep in mind that just sharing the URL from your browser may not always work when sharing links to library content. Many of our databases have a specially coded URL used for sharing called a permalink. Copying and pasting a URL from your browser may results in an error when you try to share with your class.
When in any database look for the following options to locate and share the links to library content:
Some databases may also use icons such as the share icon () or the link icon () to indicate where you can get a shareable link to library content.
Use the instructions and screenshots in the tabs above to copy the URLs, links, and embedded code to use CSM Library streaming films in your Canvas courses. Students off-campus will be directed to log-in to the library's resources using the OneLogin account (same username and password as Canvas) and will be able to access the content. See off-campus access info for details.
Library licensing rights allow for in-person classroom viewing. Services like Zoom may block video and audio of the Library's streaming films because licensing does not permit digital broadcasting.
If you experience any trouble broadcasting CSM Library streaming media in-person in your CSM classroom try using a hard-wired device (i.e.HDMI cable to your laptop) rather than Crestron AirDrop or other casting platform. If you're still having issues contact ITS for assistance.
Log-in to your faculty account in Swank (this is a Swank account separate from your OneLogin account). Select the SWANK film you would like to link to and use the controls in the lower right corner to copy the URL (copy direct link) or HTML code (copy LMS link):
Select the Films on Demand film you would like to link to and use the controls below the film to select Share. In the pop-up box select Embed/Link to get the URL (Record URL) and select the video size for your embed code (Embed Code):
Select the Alexander Street film you would like to link to and use the controls below the film to select Embed/Link. In the pop-up box select the Permanent link to get the URL or Embed code to embed the film in your course:
Select the Kanopy film you would like use and select the Share button. Share will provide you with the URL for the film, and Embed will provide you with the HTML code to embed it in your class: