Research Guides: Art and Art History: Overview

Subject Guide: Art & Art History

Welcome to the Art & Art History Research Guide. You will find a comprehensive range of resources to support your exploration of law and criminal justice practices. Alongside access to scholarly journals and databases in this guide, CSM Librarians can help you throughout your research in-person, via chat, or through one-on-one appointments.

Additional guides for research

Architecture
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Mar 12, 2024 18 views this year
Digital Media
by CSM Librarian Last Updated Feb 14, 2024 8 views this year
History
by Teresa Morris Last Updated Apr 9, 2024 86 views this year

Starting Research in Art & Art History

Begin by identifying an area of interest, artist, movement, or work of art.
Do some informal background research using Google or Wikipedia if you need to understand more about a topic, and keep track of what you find.
Narrow down your topic to a specific question or issue, and isolate the major keywords of your topic or issue.
Using your keywords, try searching several different sources including the OneSearch catalog and individual databases
Consider consulting with a CSM librarian or your instructors for guidance and recommendations on relevant sources.
As you gather information, critically evaluate sources for credibility and relevance to your research topic.
Keep track of citations and take thorough notes to aid in the organization of your research findings.

Start with these databases

ArtSTOR (new platform) This link opens in a new window
A digital library of art images and descriptive information for students and instructors. Create a personal account to access more features and to login directly from the artstor.org website. The previous version of ArtSTOR platform (retiring at the end of 2023) is still available at https://libguides.collegeofsanmateo.edu/artstor_retired
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
All ProQuest Databases This link opens in a new window
Search all of CSM Library's ProQuest databases at once. Includes ProQuest Research Library, Diversity Database, Ebook Central, and more.

Searching OneSearch

OneSearch is the CSM Library's catalog of all of print and ebooks, and millions of articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and more. OneSearch is a great place to start your search, but we recommend searching in individual databases as you proceed in your research.

More Ebooks

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Over 140,000 easy to access online books. Browse by subjects - literature, social sciences, life sciences, engineering and technology - or use the search box.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of digital books, including academic titles and popular fiction, for reading online. Most of these titles are currently NOT available in OneSearch; please search through the database here to locate titles.