Deeper Research - ENGL 100 - Peter Bruni: Comparing Economic Systems in the United States - Capitalism and Socialism - Research Guides at College of San Mateo Library

News & Current Events

Click www.NYTimes.com/GroupPass
(You must be on campus to create the account. Once created you can access your account anywhere.)
Click on Create Account.
Sign up by typing in your email address and any password.
Access www.NYTimes.com on any computer. Log in using the account you created.
Visit www.NYTimes.com/mobile on your tablet or mobile device to download your free NYT apps. Log in using the account you created.

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news and information on the countries of the world. Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information is included.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.

Titles available via Journal Finder

American review of political economy
Bulletin of the Association for the Study in Socialist Economies
Capitalism and society
Capitalism, nature, socialism
Constitutional political economy
Fast capitalism
History of political economy
International economy
International journal of political economy
International socialism
International socialist review
Journal of Economics and Political Economy
Journal of political economy
Modern economy
NPR: Economy
Political theology : the journal of Christian Socialism
Problems of Economy
Pulse of capitalism
Research in world economy
Review of Black political economy
Review of political economy
Socialism and democracy
Socialist register
Socialist review
Socialist studies
Socialist worker
World economy

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.
Gale Directory Library This link opens in a new window
This is an online, searchable version of Encyclopedia of Associations: International; U.S. National, Regional, State and Local Organizations. The database also includes National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 3,000 videos and 33,000 segments - all Closed Captioned. These videos cover topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The video content can be linked with any course management system and used by faculty and students.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

Subject Specific Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
data.census.gov is the new platform to access demographic and economic data from the U.S. Census Bureau. You can find economic, demographic or housing information about your city, county, state - or the entire United States.
Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection.
Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985. Also includes thousands of company profiles. Updated daily.
Country Background Notes | US Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets This link opens in a new window
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of foreign countries. Published by the U.S. Department of State.
RAND California This link opens in a new window
Statistical information on California. Includes population & demographics; health & health care; business & economics; crimes, prisons, & courts; labor force, employment & earnings; energy; environment, resources & weather; K-12 & higher education; income, expenditure, wealth, & poverty; social insurance & human services; transportation & travel; and federal, state, & local government information.
U.S. History in Context: United States This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, and full-text journals on U.S. history.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers 20th century history, including reference sources, full-text articles, maps, images, and primary source documents.
World Factbook This link opens in a new window
Facts about the countries of the world, published by the CIA.