Research Guides: ENGL105 (Lawrence) IX in Action: Articles & Databases

Searching with Keywords

Keywords help narrow down search results, making them more relevant to your specific search. By using specific terms, you can focus on the information you need. But keywords don't always have to be specific: combining the right words with broader terms can generate good results as well.

Example

Topic: The pay gap between mascots for female professional teams vs. male professional teams

Keywords
Key/related Ideas	Broader concepts	Narrower concepts
pay gap for mascots Keywords: "pay gap" professional mascots	pay gap in the United States Keywords: "pay gap" "United States"	pay gap for WBNA mascots Keywords: WBNA macots "pay gap"
allocation of financial resources for female professional sports teams Keywords: money budgets "female sports teams"	global resources for female professional teams Keywords: international budget "female sports teams"	resources for WBNA teams vs NBA Keywords: WBNA budget

Start with these databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.
Biography In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Biographical reference, magazine, and journal articles.

Newspapers

Newsbank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection includes international, national, and local news sources from around the globe. Includes access to regional and local papers. This collection also includes magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswires and covers topics on a wide variety of areas.
News Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text articles or links to news sources. Searches four EBSCO news databases at once: Newspaper Source Plus; Newswires; Regional Business News; and Web News.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from 800+ newspapers, as well as thousands of television and radio news transcripts. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the New York Times CSM students must register for an account through one of the CSM Library websites:
- Create an account from ON-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
- Create an account from OFF-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
Watch this short video to see how to set-up and access your account. More details about NY Times personal accounts.