Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CSM Library
Guides
ENGL 105 (Lawrence)
Reference Books
Search this Guide
Search
ENGL 105 (Lawrence)
An Introduction...
Presearch/Background info
Books/eBooks
Articles & Databases
Reference Books
Other Resources & Websites
Evaluating Resources
Citation Resources
Get Help from a Librarian
Online Dictionaries
Merriam-Webster Online
This one guesses at your word for you. It's ok if you can't spell it correctly.
Oxford English Dictionary
This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative source on the English language, with a focus on etymology and historical usage.
Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary
This dictionary uses illustrations and diagrams to explain terms. Search by category or term.
Online Encyclopedias
Britannica Online Academic Edition
This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO)
This link opens in a new window
Easy to read articles for beginning readers on a wide range of topics.
Gale Ebooks (Formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library: GVRL)
This link opens in a new window
Select from the list of reference titles available to CSM through the Gale Virtual Library. Note that some of them are multi-volume books.
Access Science
This link opens in a new window
An online encyclopedia of science and technology.
College of San Mateo Library's Encyclopedias
See a complete list of all of CSM Library's online encyclopedias
<<
Previous:
Articles & Databases
Next:
Other Resources & Websites >>
