Further Reading & Research - Fall 2023 College 1 - Common Read - Research Guides at College of San Mateo Library

Books about Immigrant Experience in America

'Tis by Frank McCourt
ISBN: 9780684848785
'Tis is the story of Frank's American journey from impoverished immigrant to brilliant teacher and raconteur.
Barefoot Heart by Elva Trevino Hart
ISBN: 9780927534819
Chronicles the life of a child growing up in a family of Mexican-American migrant farm workers who traveled between Texas and Minnesota.
Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue
ISBN: 9780812998481
Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son.
The Circuit by Francisco Jiménez
ISBN: 9780826317971
Intertwined stories follow a migrant family through their circuit, from picking cotton and strawberries to topping carrots - and back again - over a number of years.
Exit West: A Novel by Mohsin Hamid
ISBN: 9780735212176
This is a love story that unfolds in a world being irrevocably transformed by migration.
In Jewish Texas: A Family Memoir by Stanley E. Ely
ISBN: 0875651879
A funny, caustic, and nostalgic tale in the tradition of popular regionally and ethnically focused memoirs.
Out of Place by Edward W. Said
ISBN: 9780394587394
Underscoring all is the confusion of identity as Said had to come to terms with the dissonance of being an American citizen, a Christian and a Palestinian, and, ultimately, an outsider.
Polite Lies: On Being a Woman Caught Between Cultures by Kyoko Mori
ISBN: 9780449004289
In this powerful, exquisitely crafted book, Kyoko Mori delves into her dual heritage with a rare honesty that is both graceful and stirring.
Something to Declare by Julia Alvarez
ISBN: 9781565121935
In 24 autobiographical essays, the author presents her Dominican childhood, her family's immigration to the United States, her college years, writing, marriages, & return trips to her homeland.
Unaccompanied by Javier Zamora
ISBN: 9781556595110
This gorgeous debut speaks with heart-wrenching intimacy and first-hand experience to the hot-button political issues of immigration and border crossings.

Selected Databases for Ethnic Studies

Aztlan: A Journal of Chicano Studies This link opens in a new window
This journal from UCLA presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces and more. It seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
Latino American Experience This link opens in a new window
The Latino American Experience is an online resource dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos in the United States. Perfect for background information, history, and primary sources for a broad range of topics.
ProQuest Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines and newspapers to highlight diverse and independent voices. Includes collections covering alternative and independent publications, ethnic and minority publications, and gender studies.
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Offers a range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period. Coverage extends from the 15th to 20th century, providing information about the indigenous peoples of the region, the Conquest (la Conquista), colonial rule, religion, struggles for independence, and political, economic, and social progress and issues in newly independent nations.

Article Databases For Background Research

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.

ProQuest Research Library

ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

Biography In Context (Gale)

Biographical reference, magazine, and journal articles.

SIRS Issues Researcher

This database contains full-text articles exploring social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues. Articles and graphics are selected from 1,500 domestic and international publications.

CQ Researcher

In-depth reports on current social issues and problems from Congressional Quarterly.

Britannica Online Academic Edition

An online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica

General OneFile (Gale)

A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.

Newspapers and News Databases

News Databases

Provides access to full text articles or links to news sources. Searches four EBSCO news databases at once: Newspaper Source Plus; Newswires; Regional Business News; and Web News.

NYTimes.com

The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access available.

(You must be on campus to create an account. Once the account is created you can access your account anywhere--create an account, by filling out the form.)

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)

Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.

Wall Street Journal (WSJ)

Wall Street Journal (WSJ) is a business US news source. To have full access you need to create your own free account:

1. Visit www.wsj.com/CoSM while on CSM campus.
2. Sign up using your CSM email address.
3. Access www.wsj.com anywhere (on campus and off-campus)

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)

Provides full text articles from 800+ newspapers, as well as thousands of television and radio news transcripts. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.

Nexus Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)

Nexis Uni™ features news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news and information on the countries of the world. Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information is included.