Research Guides: History: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Best Databases for History

Start searching these databases with simple words and concepts, then move to more complex terms to narrow your searches. If you need help, don't hesitate to reach out to a librarian using the chat on the left.

ABC-CLIO Solutions This link opens in a new window
This database offers curated collections of primary sources, expert perspectives, and reference material on the following subjects: The African American Experience, The American Indian Experience, The Latino American Experience, Modern Genocide, Pop Culture Universe, World Religions
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
ProQuest Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines and newspapers to highlight diverse and independent voices. Includes collections covering alternative and independent publications, ethnic and minority publications, and gender studies.
U.S. History in Context: United States This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, and full-text journals on U.S. history.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers 20th century history, including reference sources, full-text articles, maps, images, and primary source documents.

Not sure where to start?

Try browsing some journals and publications by clicking the button below. Once you find an interesting title, use the catalog tools to view the table of contents or search within a publication.

History Journals