Research Guides: Nursing : Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Best Databases for Nursing

Start searching these databases with simple words and concepts, then move to more complex terms to narrow your searches. If you need help, don't hesitate to reach out to a librarian using chat.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Nursing & Allied Health Source This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles from medical disciplines, with an emphasis on nursing and allied health. The collection also include Medcom Video Training Programs Collection.
Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and much more.
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Pubmed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
PubMed with MyNCBI Filters This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a search engine that comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, other databases, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Search filters include nursing, bioethics, guidelines, core clinical journals, and more.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This database helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Current, full text articles from health magazines, newsletters, and health reference books (e.g. Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary), and Clinical Reference Systems reports.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
This database includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. This database is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
This database covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. It offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
This database supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. The database contains more than 560 full-text journals.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of nearly 80 APA journals in psychology, behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new window
The PTSDpubs database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.

Not sure where to start?

Try browsing some journals and publications by clicking the button below. Once you find an interesting title, use the catalog tools to view the table of contents or search within a publication.

Nursing Journals