Nursing

Essential tool used by nurses and nursing students for 25 years. This 6 page laminated quick reference guide covers the need to know whether you are studying, prepping for tests or already a working nurse. Just the facts and answers arranged and organized to have as much info possible at your fingertips in color coded sections to find what you need and to promote memorization. We have heard first-hand how our nursing guides have boosted grades, helped with passing tests like TEAs and NCLEX, reduced some stress of academic intake and how this guide has even been stolen by other nurses from the nursing station (true story). Authored and updated by two accomplished nurses, teachers and writers Jill E. Winland-Brown, EdD, MSM, ARNP and Julie Henry, RN, MPA, you will not find a more inexpensive reference that offers so much support. 6 page laminated guide includes: Components of the Nursing Process Basic Head-to-Toe Assessment Assessing Lung Sounds (with diagram) Adventitious Lung Sounds & Potential Causes Assessment Techniques  Percussion Sounds & Potential Causes  System Assessment Glasgow Coma Scale Heart Normal Electrocardiogram (EKG) Pattern Grading of Heart Murmurs Edema Rating Scale Pulses Skin & Muscles Quick Guide to Skin Assessment Muscle Strength Decubitus Ulcer Staging Medication Administration Medication Dosage Calculation Injection Sites (with images) Insulin Types & Action Times IV Solutions & Calculations Laboratory Values Comprehensive Metabolic Panel Coagulation Studies Complete Blood Count (CBC) & Differential  Common Abbreviations

2 BOOKS IN 1! Practical diagnoses to create a care plan Up-to-date coverage of the latest psychotropic medications   This quick reference pocket guide is two books in one! The first half provides the diagnostic information needed to create a care plan; the second half covers the safe prescription and administration of psychotropic medications. It's the most complete and easy-to-use resource on how to develop practical, individualized plans of care for psychiatric-mental health patients...perfect for clinical rotations now and for practicing nurses later. Concepts can be applied in a variety of healthcare settings...from in-patient hospitalization through the outpatient clinic...to home health and private practice.   The perfect addition!"I used this daily during my psych rotation and it'll remain on my shelf for future reference. Great must have!"--Sarah, Online Reviewer   Nursing Student Psych Nurse must-have."Super useful for nursing diagnoses and concept maps that were required. Has "evidenced by", "goals", "interventions" and "outcomes" -- plus describes all the different conditions! I want one for all my rotations!"--Elle, Online Reviewer   Updated! Psychiatric disorders reflect the taxonomy and diagnostic criteria of the DSM-5-TR and Nursing diagnoses current with the NANDA-I 2021-2023 Nursing Diagnoses Definitions and Classifications Expanded & Updated! Section on psychotropic medications includes the addition of medications available since the last edition and the deletion of those discontinued. Clinical Pearl boxes highlight must-know information and interventions for diagnoses. Index of Client Behaviors with page numbers listed on inside covers. Organized by DSM-V-TR and NANDA diagnoses. Helpful rating scales in the appendices--Hamilton Depression Rating Scale, Abnormal Involuntary Movement Scale, and Hamilton Anxiety Rating Scale Nursing diagnoses and interventions include the definition, possible etiologies ("Related to ..."), defining characteristics ("Evidenced by ..."), objectives broken down to show long- and short-term goals, interventions with selected rationales, and desired patient outcomes/discharge criteria. Each psychiatric disorder lists background assessment data, predisposing factors, symptomatology, and nursing diagnoses and nursing interventions commonly associated with the disorder. Unit on psychotropic drug classifications covers anti-anxiety agents, antidepressants, mood stabilizing agents, antipsychotics, antiparkinsonian and tardive dyskinesia drugs, sedative hypnotics, and agents used to treat attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. Indications, route, and dosage listed for individual drugs as well as for classifications. Communication interventions in the care plans reinforce the emphasis on therapeutic communication,  

While vast numbers of nurses across the globe contribute in all areas of healthcare delivery from primary care to acute and long-term care in community settings, there are significant differences in how they are educated, as well as the precise nature of their practice. This comprehensive handbook provides a research-informed and international perspective on the critical issues in contemporary nurse education. As an applied discipline, nursing is implemented differently depending on the social, political and cultural climate in any given context. These factors impact on education, as much as on practice, and are reflected in debates around the value of accredited programmes, and on-the-job training, apprenticeship, undergraduate and postgraduate pathways into nursing. Engaging with these debates amongst others, the authors collected here discuss how, through careful design and delivery of nursing curricula, nurses can be prepared to understand complex care processes, complex healthcare technologies, complex patient needs and responses to therapeutic interventions, and complex organizations. The book discusses historical perspectives on how nurses should be educated; contemporary issues facing educators; teaching and learning strategies; the politics of nurse education; education for advanced nursing practice; global approaches; and educating for the future. Bringing together leading authorities from across the world to reflect on past, present and future approaches to nurse education and nursing pedagogy, this handbook provides a cutting-edge overview for all educators, researchers and policy-makers concerned with nurse education.

The key to success in nursing school is effective studying Why not have a concise study guide that conveys all the essential, tested material for each course? Tired of buying study guides for each nursing course? This is the ultimate, all-in-one study guide to the core information nursing students need for success in all of their foundational courses. This is a small study guide that packs a big punch. This guide is also a great tool for new nurse graduates. Presented in a well-organized and easy-to-read style, it contains everything a nursing student needs to know from the first nursing course through the last. The second edition is updated with critical new information about medications, lab values, assessments, emerging disorders, and nursing interventions. It includes three new chapters: "What to Expect in Nursing School," "Decreasing Test Anxiety," and "Emergency Nursing." The guide closely follows the standard nursing curriculum and is designed as a reference for every core nursing course. To facilitate successful exam preparation, the text highlights important material most likely to appear on class exams. Also included are tips on what to expect on the NCLEX-RN√ . NEW TO THE SECOND EDITION: New and updated information on medications, lab values, emerging conditions, and nursing interventions A new chapter on emergency nursing A new chapter on anxiety-reducing test-taking strategies A new chapter on what to expect in nursing school

The study of pharmaceutical dosage forms has many connections to biological and medical sciences including physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, pharmacotherapy, therapeutics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacognosy. Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms is a collection of terms and definitions prepared to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care. It can also provide reference material for hospital and medical staff, consultants, nursing instructors, and pharmaceutical science students. This first edition classifies and organizes the forms in an easily readable format, so readers will find it a quick and simple reference. Features Collects terms and definitions to assist healthcare practitioners and students as a companion or reference resource when reading notes and completing routine care Focuses on product dosage forms and includes supplementary information, providing readers, particularly pharmacy and medical students and professionals, insights into choices of dosage forms made during drug product development Offers information on the indications, contraindications, side effects, and more, for a given drug Classifies and organizes the forms in a readable format, providing a quick and simple reference