Research Guides: ESL400: Climate Change Spring 2025: Sustainable Procurement

Sustainable Procurement

Description & Keywords
Bookshelf

Sustainable Procurement

Recognizing the impact that the materials economy has on the health and well-being of both people and the planet, SMCCCD looks to minimize its role as a contributor to waste and pollution. The District aims to use its purchasing power to contribute to circular economics and closed loop systems within the materials economy while maintaining fiscal responsibility.

Possible Search Terms

bales of recycled paper

materials economy
minimize waste
minimize pollution
"purchasing power" sustainability
circular economics
closed loop system

Recycling from Waste in Fashion and Textiles
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781119620495
Publication Date: 2020
This book addresses the role of sustainability by using textile waste in fashion and textiles with respect to manufacturing, materials, as well as the economic and business challenges and opportunities it poses.
Unmaking Waste in Production and Consumption
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781787146198
Publication Date: 2018
This book presents new theoretical and practical insights into this concept, based on case studies from both the developing and developed world, with an emphasis on economic and material transformation, design for reuse and waste reduction, industrial symbiosis(the planned circulation of resources and energy within an industrial setting),and social innovation and entrepreneurship.
Sustainable Procurement for Infrastructure
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780784483107
Publication Date: 2020
Prepared by the Policy Committee of the Committee on Sustainability of ASCE Sustainable Procurement for Infrastructurepresents an overview of the implementation of sustainability principles in the procurement process. Topics include benefits of sustainable procurement, recommended procurement language, commentary and references for further study; and lists of available case studies that depict projects exemplifying sustainable procurement in projects of various sizes.
Procurement 20/20
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781118800478
Publication Date: 2013
How to achieve procurement excellence today and evolve to be ready for tomorrow Procurement entrepreneurship pays. High-performing procurement teams can deliver huge value to their companies-regardless of industry. The best companies are advancing talent-management strategies into the heart of their procurement organizations with huge success.

Start your search!

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment such as global warming, green building, sustainable agriculture, and more. Includes academic, government and general-interest articles
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers topical social issues, with viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and links to Web sites and articles.