It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career and Job Resources
Links and resources for researching careers and jobs.
OneSearch is designed to provide a comprehensive search of each SMCCCD college's print and online collections. Search results will appear in categories based on source and content type. You can see what articles, books, and databases we have available and get immediate access to full-text journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.
Books in the library are organized by call number according to the Library of Congress classification system, which groups items by subject (LC Subject Headings) so you can often simply browse the shelves.
Here are some common LC Subject Headings relating to career exploration and job search:
College majors -- United States (call no.: LB2361)
Vocational guidance -- United States (call no.: HF5382)
Vocational interests -- United States (call no.: HF5382)
Personality and occupation (call no.: HF5381)
Professions -- United States (call no.: HT690)
Occupations -- United States (call no.: HF5382)
Career education -- United States (call no.: HF5382)
Job hunting -- United States (call no.: HF5382)
Here are examples of LC Subject Headings relating to specific careers or jobs:
Corrections -- Vocational guidance -- United States (call no.: HV9470)
Medicine -- Vocational guidance -- Forecasting (call no.: R690)
The how-to guide for your career In his previous book, Lose the Resume, Land the Job , author Gary Burnison exposed the myths and the ineffective thinking around how to land the job you really want. Now, in Advance, he takes readers through the next stage—advancing in their careers
A complete career planning and job search guide for people with physical and mental disabilities. This book shows how to identify strengths, explore options, find jobs, write resumes, and perform well in interviews.
Access Ebook Central and eBook Collection (EbscoHost) using your student email and password. Access to Overdrive is available using your public library card from Peninsula Library System library.
Thousands of digital books, including academic titles and popular fiction, for reading online. Most of these titles are currently NOT available in OneSearch; please search through the database here to locate titles.
Includes downloadable audio books for listening and eBooks for on-screen reading. Both digital audio books and eBooks can be used on a variety of devices such as PCs, laptops, and supported PDAs. To access digital books at you will need a valid Peninsula Library System library card, access to the Internet, and free software for the device on which you wish to use your digital book (PC, MAC and multiple portable devices).
This collection includes thousands of hours of video, exclusive books, learning experiences, case studies, and certification prep for a wide variety of tech-, business-related topics including programming, web and mobile design, hardware, security, and more. This database also includes books a wide variety of topics beyond technology.