Skip to Main Content

Career and Job Resources

Links and resources for researching careers and jobs.

Online Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica (Britannica Online Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
An online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica
Access Science This link opens in a new window
An online encyclopedia of science and technology.

Online Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The most authoritative source on the English language, with a focus on etymology and historical usage.

Merriam-Webster Online
This one guesses at your word for you. It's ok if you can't spell it correctly.
Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary
This dictionary uses illustrations and diagrams to explain terms. Search by category or term.

Print Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

These books are located in the reference shelves on the first floor of the CSM Library. Some dictionaries and thesauruses are also located in wooden stands next to the tables on the first floor.

World Book Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF/AE5.W55 2005
A general encyclopedia for researching all topics.
World Book Dictionary
Call Number: REF/PE1625.W73 2003
A resource for learning the spelling and meaning of English words.
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Call Number: REF/PE1628.A54 2000

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2024 8:44 AM
URL: https://libguides.collegeofsanmateo.edu/careers
Print Page

Subjects: Career and Life Planning, Veterans Resources

Tags: career, college, job, life_planning, occupation, vocation