Research Guides: Honors Project Seminar (Humanities): Articles & Databases

A to Z Databases at College of San Mateo
A complete list of all CSM Library's online and subscription databases.

What is a "scholarly article" ?

Anatomy of a scholarly article (interactive) This link opens in a new window
Short, illustrative and interactive guide to recognizing a scholarly article.

Scholarly and Popular Sources (video)
5 minutes video explaining differences between scholarly journals and popular magazines - from CSM Library youtube channel.

Can't Find an Article or Book? Try ILL!

CSM Library offers Inter-library Loan (ILL) to help students and faculty get the research resources they need when the library doesn't own or have access. It's best to chat or email a librarian first to make sure that we don't have the resource, then use the ILL form to request an item. Sometimes lending libraries apply fees to lend items, and sometimes getting an item may take several weeks. Please be aware and plan ahead.

Multi-Subject Databases with Scholarly Articles - ALL topics can be searched here

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.
ProQuest Diversity Collection This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines and newspapers to highlight diverse and independent voices. Includes collections covering alternative and independent publications, ethnic and minority publications, and gender studies.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases with Non-scholarly sources - ALL topics can be searched here

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
The Films on Demand collections provide unlimited, 24/7 access to more than 3,000 videos and 33,000 segments - all Closed Captioned. These videos cover topics in Humanities & Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Mathematics and Health & Medicine to name a few. The video content can be linked with any course management system and used by faculty and students.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from 800+ newspapers, as well as thousands of television and radio news transcripts. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Christian Science Monitor, The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
Newsbank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection includes international, national, and local news sources from around the globe. Includes access to regional and local papers. This collection also includes magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswires and covers topics on a wide variety of areas.

Subject-Specific Databases

Business Insights: Global (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection.
Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Business Source Elite (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 business publications dating back to 1985. Also includes thousands of company profiles. Updated daily.
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News™ is a supplemental database for customers of Business Source Elite. With daily updates, Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional U.S. and Canadian business publications.

America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Gale OneFile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
This database contains scholarly journals and magazines that can be used by novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers.
Gale OneFile: World History This link opens in a new window
This database merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
U.S. History in Context: United States This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, and full-text journals on U.S. history.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers 20th century history, including reference sources, full-text articles, maps, images, and primary source documents.

Literature Resource Center (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Includes biographical information on authors and critical reviews of works. Contains encyclopedia and journal articles.
ArtSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of art images and descriptive information for students and instructors. Create a personal account to access more features and to login directly from the artstor.org website. The previous version of ArtSTOR platform (retiring at the end of 2023) is still available at https://libguides.collegeofsanmateo.edu/artstor_retired
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
This streaming film and tv database has a Netflix style viewing experience, and features a selection of films from the majority of the major Hollywood studios as well as many independent, foreign, art house, and documentary offerings
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Select streaming film titles that appear on syllabi of film studies and other courses.

Newsbank: Access World News This link opens in a new window
This news collection includes international, national, and local news sources from around the globe. Includes access to regional and local papers. This collection also includes magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswires and covers topics on a wide variety of areas.
Country Background Notes | US Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets This link opens in a new window
Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of foreign countries. Published by the U.S. Department of State.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news and information on the countries of the world. Demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental information is included.
Gale In Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Includes rich multimedia.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
This database contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. It is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news related to all branches of the military and government; contains articles from over 400 publications.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images colleciton (formerly known as ArtSTOR)
World Religions This link opens in a new window
World Religions: Belief, Culture, and Controversy covers religion around the globe, from prehistory to the present.
Gale OneFile: Religion and Philosophy This link opens in a new window
This database covers topics of philosophies and religions in one comprehensive collection. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of nearly 80 APA journals in psychology, behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. The database contains more than 560 full-text journals.

Google Scholar

Many students like to use Google as their primary research tool. It's a wonderful tool but if you're going to be doing research in many academic areas, you'll also be asked to find specific kinds of research. Google Scholar is an upgrade to the regular general Google search tool.