Research Guides: DANC 100 Walton: Articles

Deeper Research

Now it's time to explore news, magazine, and journal articles. The library has some of these in print, but the majority are found in databases.

Use the Journal Finder tool if you know a specific newspaper, magazine, or journal title that you would like to find. This tool will direct you to the appropriate database, if we have access to it.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides a full text archive of articles from scholarly journals in many disciplines (Art, Business, Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences and more), as well as access to a large images collection.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, magazines, and news sources in many subject areas. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and much more.
MasterFile Search Complete This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE™ Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also includes full text more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile provides access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources in key subject areas such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for popular, scholarly, and trade publications in all formats: newspaper, magazine, journal, and newsletter, etc.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library's 3500 full text periodicals - scholarly, trade and popular – cover subjects from business and political science to literature and psychology.

Dance News, Magazines, or Journals

Journal Finder
Journal Finder helps you find specific journals, magazines, or news sources. You can search by title, keyword, ISSN, or browse journal titles by category.
Dance Magazine Also available via MasterFILE and Biography in Context.
Dance Magazines & Journals available via the Library
Journal of Hip Hop Studies

Subject Specific Article Databases

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of nearly 80 APA journals in psychology, behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences This link opens in a new window
Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. The database contains more than 560 full-text journals.
America: History & Life with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database contains literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
U.S. History in Context: United States This link opens in a new window
Provides access to historical (primary) documents, reference articles, and full-text journals on U.S. history.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
Covers 20th century history, including reference sources, full-text articles, maps, images, and primary source documents.

Explore Our Full List of Databases

A-Z List of Databases Alphabetical list of databases and other online resources from CSM Library.

News & Current Events Article Databases

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Articles from the ethnic, minority and native press.
News Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full text articles or links to news sources. Searches four EBSCO news databases at once: Newspaper Source Plus; Newswires; Regional Business News; and Web News.
New York Times (nytimes.com) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times online features news and information from around the world. Premium online account and mobile app access is available for CSM students, faculty, and staff. For full access to the New York Times CSM students must register for an account through one of the CSM Library websites:
- Create an account from ON-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
- Create an account from OFF-CAMPUS and follow the directions to complete your registration.
Watch this short video to see how to set-up and access your account. More details about NY Times personal accounts.

News Sources & Account Instructions (CSM Library) Find news sources available via CSM Library, including personal accounts and sign up instructions for New York Times and Wall Street Journal.

Dance Section: New York Times

Dance Section (New York Times)